Homebrew A noob's guide to DSi hacking end-to-end.

roygbiv

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Update: This guide is already outdated as of 1/26/18. It may still work, and you may find the steps helpful to review, but I don't guarantee it. Please at least read more recently updated guides to make sure you're following the right steps.

I've attempted to install homebrew on my USA version DSi XL, and in the process discovered a lot of guides and tools that don't quite lead a noob through the whole process. This is my attempt to share what I've learned for others who are in the same boat as I was in a few days ago.

Disclaimer: I'm not an expert, and while this worked for me in January 2018 it may be outdated quickly. Please carefully read more authoritative guides to ensure you don't brick your DSi.

My goals when starting out:
  1. Prepare to install HiyaCFW (custom DSi firmware) via RocketLauncher (an exploit) in the future. Neither are released as of this posting.
  2. Install homebrew applications and emulators to my DSi XL's SD card, so that I don't need to use a flashcart.
Requirements for following the below guides, as best I can tell:
  1. A USA version DSi or DSi XL (your firmware version should have a "U" next to it, like "Ver 1.4.5U").
  2. An empty SD card, formatted FAT32, which you can use in your DSi (pro tip, the SD card port is on the right side of the console, don't go unscrewing the battery door like me). Also, an SD card reader for your PC. I used a 4GB SDHC card but you might get away with as low as 1GB if you don't want to put many homebrew programs on it and if the tools we're using don't require an SDHC card specifically.
  3. A Windows PC (or OSX/Linux computer with Wine installed, I think). I'm going to be describing how I used a Windows PC.