Jaspiibear

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi,

I've never tried to hack my 3ds before and I'm not super computer savy so I'm not very surprised I got an error when trying to launch homebrew for the first time. Whenever I try and open the sound file on the 3ds it says an error has occurred and that it's going to restart my 3ds. I think I understand my problem though, I'm just not sure how to fix it. I opened one of the files I needed to put on the SD card and used google chrome on accident to open it and then some of the file icons turned from like a blank white rectangle to the google chrome icon. I feel like that has something to do with it but i'm not sure if that's the issue or if it's something else...
If anyone knows how to fix my problem and explain it in a very simple way I would appreciate it. <3

ThoD

GBATemp Addict (apparently), but more like "bored"
Trophies
XP
Country
Greece
First of all, what firmware are you on? I assume you don't have Luma or a CFW installed as you are using Soundhax instead of something like Rosalina, so you have a vanilla unit. Go to the system settings and check the version of the FW (bottom right of top screen). If it's above 11.3, Soundhax is unusable and will always fail to work.

Reactions: Giodude

Giodude

GBAtemp's official rock
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
If you are indeed below 11.3, are you sure you renamed the other app payload to other app.bin? What kind of error do you get when launching? If you do happen to be above 11.3, you can still experience Homebrew and cfw, though it will cost the price of a compatible nds flashcart, which typically retails for about $20.

Jaspiibear

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States