Gaming Flipnote Studio on the DS

Neopath

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Just wondering if it's technically feasible for someone to hack Flipbook Studio to run it on a DS Lite. Does it use the camera or whatnot that would make it impossible to run? Should we keep our hopes up?

otto888

I break things for a living.
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm guessing no,since it does get data from the camera app,and if it doesn't see the data, it may crash/f*** up. and it uses the mic as a hidden feature.

Wintrale

Trophies
XP
Country
Wouldn't work. Aside from the whole camera/microphone thing, it requires a proper internet connection (which only the DSi has) and I assume it doesn't use .sav files (since it can upload your flipnote animations to a website for viewing).

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
There's homebrew animation alternatives, but they simply don't compare to flipnote.

And then flipnote uses a bunch of DSi functions like the camera, the internal memory, and importantly the SD slot.

...Hello hello, thinking, thinking, buffer overflow through hacked flipnote animation?

Jakob95

I am the Avatar
Suspended
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Yeah but with a homebrew of flipnote the guy could remove the camera stuff and make it work on in DS mode since it will be a homebrew it won't be the actual thing.

Rayder

Mostly lurking lately....
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I don't have a DSi and know nothing about how the app works, but I DO see Flipnote as truly the first really good DSi feature/app. I didn't know Flipnote used the camera. I thought you drew out every page of the flipnote vid on the touchscreen and then added sound after the vid was created. Any "camera pics" inserted into Flipnote I thought were just ones you already took before booting Flipnote. Like I said, I've seen nothing of the Flipnote app beyond the end-result vids.