iPhone vs Android privacy

• Thread starter Deleted User
  • Start date
  • Views 1,227
  • Replies 4
D

Deleted User

OP
When answering this question please to the best of your ability leave your personal biases out and answer the question as objectively as you can.

Right now I believe the iPhone to be a better choice for privacy concerned individuals. But I have very little knowledge to back up my opinion. Only the time when Apple refused to unlock that guy's iPhone for American authorities and some YouTube video I was watching which said that 80% of Android phones have some sort of tracking technology built in them.

SANIC

GBATemp's Sonic Fan in Residence, 後
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
When answering this question please to the best of your ability leave your personal biases out and answer the question as objectively as you can.

Right now I believe the iPhone to be a better choice for privacy concerned individuals. But I have very little knowledge to back up my opinion. Only the time when Apple refused to unlock that guy's iPhone for American authorities and some YouTube video I was watching which said that 80% of Android phones have some sort of tracking technology built in them.
All apple phones have tracking tech in them,

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country
Never had an Apple so can't voice my opinion on it, but IMHO I suspect that Apple phones (in particular the Apps) are LESS nosy (ie accessing the phone hardware/firmware) than with Android.

Many apps in android show they want permissions for many parts of the hardware/firmware (eg 'why does a game need access to your contacts, camera or calendar' ?? it's a GAME ffs).
In some cases I wonder WHY they want that particular permission..
... but since Apple have a tight control over app development, I suspect Apple checks on the developer(s) to find out WHY they need a access to certain stuff on their phone

matpower

Messenger from Zero
Trophies
XP
Country