Want to learn to code

yusuo

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Ok so let's put this bluntly although I deem myself to be quite computer literate I cannot code to save my life.

I done a bit of visual basic in college, 10 years ago but apart from that I've had no experience and to be fair I can't remember anything.

Where is a good place to start that can make it somewhat fun and what language should I start with

Reactions: DRAGONBALLVINTAGE

_v3

Trophies
XP
Country
Croatia
Sololearn has a good deal of courses, completely free. Start with whatever you feel like learning.

D

Deleted User

Start with python.There is a site called udemy where you can pay for course lessons or get free basic lessons

Last edited by ,
Reactions: Deleted User

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
France
that can make it somewhat fun
sorry, it's not serious but a game (you asked for fun) :
Human Resource Machine

it's a game where you "program" the logic of your employee to automate tasks.
you have access to only a short list of commands (only addition and subtraction), and from that you need to create things like division, XOR, comparison, sorting strings alphabetically, etc.
the language looks more like ASM than C/C++/basic. it's using registers/add/sub/jump only.
it's short (40 levels), each with 2 challenges to create shorter code as possible.
it's fun if you like programming and logic.
steam, gog, humble bundle, iphone, android, wiiu, and Switch!

I played on switch, I miss one more level to complete it.

Maybe it can help you for your real learning course to shorten and think how to optimize your code? (or not, it's just a game)

Last edited by Cyan,
Reactions: Minox

Alkéryn

Moon Dweller ~
Trophies
XP
Country
France
I started with C
C is still my favorite language after many many years
i recomand
"The C programming language Second edition (by dennis ritchie)"