Gaming Re flashing a xbox 360 help required

shanefromoz

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
Hi all,

I have an xbox360 which has been flashed with ixtreme software and was wondering how i go about upgrading the software?
What extra leads do i have to buy to connect the drive to my pc then flash?
Im a real noob when it comes to xbox 360 upgrades and have always had someone else do it but now would like to try myself.
Hoping someone can help me.

Cheers Shane

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Despite the upcoming wall of text it is actually very simple. JTAG is a different game entirely and will not be mentioned after this sentence finishes, it does afford some niceties when flashing DVD drives though.

Introduction.
As of a couple of months ago there is now a couple of new 360 flashing toolkits (Maximus 360Lizard and X360USB PRO being their names) that are all standalone hardware give or take some purely software work on the PC. These cost about the price of two or three new games though and the old methods using PCs are considerably cheaper and not really that difficult so that is what will be covered here.

There is a good chance your first flashing experience will see you working your way through a profanisaurus for an hour or two and maybe the next one as well but at this point I can flash a 360 from sitting on my table to fully reassembled in about 10 minutes if I rush it (20 if I take my time) and flash the actual drive if it is sitting on my table in about 4

BackgroundI am not going to cover removing the 360 case. The only minor speciality tool you need is a torx10 if memory serves (normal torx- only the controllers have security torx)- you can buy a set of torx bits/security screwdrivers for pocket change these days though and I generally suggest anybody that might fix electronics has a set.