Hacking emuNAND Tool - Release and Support thread

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,740
Trophies
2
XP
8,588
Country
Tuvalu
is there some unix command, like, using 'dd' to extract the emunand partition as well? i'm sure it's possible, but i have never really used dd.
thanks :)
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,740
Trophies
2
XP
8,588
Country
Tuvalu

nice thank you, i tried to search but 'dd' is too short to look for, thanks.

although... how do i know if my nand is toshiba or samsung? and how to emunandtool figure that out?
Commands for Toshiba NAND:
Backup emuNAND from the sd card:
dd if=/dev/sdX of=dummy.bin count=1
dd if=/dev/sdX of=nand.bin count=1 skip=1931264
dd if=/dev/sdX of=nand.bin count=1931263 skip=1 seek=1

Commands for Samsung NAND:
Backup emuNAND from the sd card:
dd if=/dev/sdX of=dummy.bin count=1
dd if=/dev/sdX of=nand.bin count=1 skip=1953792
dd if=/dev/sdX of=nand.bin count=1953791 skip=1 seek=1

-edit, ok they begin at the same offset, they are just padded differently at the end, that's fine for me, i just want to get to my ticket.db :) thanks
 

Lehas

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
194
Country
Gambia, The
Im using Mac OS X and i dont have accsess to a windows laptop. Is there a workaround? Maybe with the integrated disk ulity which is installed on every macbook?
 

nop90

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,136
Country
Italy
Im using Mac OS X and i dont have accsess to a windows laptop. Is there a workaround? Maybe with the integrated disk ulity which is installed on every macbook?

What are you looking for in Mac OS X?

If it's dd, from a simple google search seems it's avalaible (look here)

For an easy woorkaround to every other problem, boot linux on a usb stick.
 

Lehas

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
194
Country
Gambia, The
So i found an instruction but there are two kind of NANDs. Toshiba and Samsung. What kind of one do i have?
Wiki gbatemp says the toshiba and has a size of 943 MB and Samsung 954MB. in my screenshots you can see there is no partition with these sizes. Is it because i installed an .cia file? (snes emu)
which NAND do i have?

EDIT:
I tried both of them to backup (wanted to wait then till your respond). No matter which method i use, the created nand.bin file is only 33 kb big. the dummy.bin has a size of 512 Bytes.
Im using these
dd if=/Volumes/GATEWAYNAND of=dummy.bin count=1
dd if=/Volumes/GATEWAYNAND of=nand.bin count=1 skip=1931264
dd if=/Volumes/GATEWAYNAND of=nand.bin count=1931263 skip=1 seek=1

What am i doing wrong?
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-04 um 13.47.17.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-04 um 13.47.17.png
    132 KB · Views: 306
  • Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-04 um 14.10.24.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-04 um 14.10.24.png
    114.3 KB · Views: 325
  • Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-04 um 14.10.28.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-04 um 14.10.28.png
    113.5 KB · Views: 275
  • Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-04 um 14.22.35.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-04 um 14.22.35.png
    47.3 KB · Views: 297

n1ghty

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2013
Messages
273
Trophies
0
XP
606
Country
Saint Kitts and Nevis
You are using the wrong partition. The gatewaynand is a fat file system. The emunand is before that partition and invisible in a filebrowser. Try using the dev file system.
 

nop90

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,136
Country
Italy
If you have a backupped nand, check it's size.

If not , make a backup with GW software.

A backup of your sysnand is your best friend when playing with consolle firmware:lol:
 

nop90

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,136
Country
Italy
Every emunand is made from a dump of the sysnand of the same consolle, so both the two have the same size.

You needed to know the type of nand chip of your consolle: check the size of your sysnand backup and you'll solve your problem.

For estracting the emunand try this:

diskutil list

this will list your disks, locate the SD disk (the size of the disks may help), it should be something like diskX where X is a number.

Then you can use:

dd if=/dev/diskX of=dummy.bin count=1
dd if=/dev/diskX of=nand.bin count=1 skip=1931264
dd if=/dev/diskX of=nand.bin count=1931263 skip=1 seek=1

Hope it helps. NOP90

PS: if you installed something on the emunand, remember to backup the 3DS folder too, or you'll loose everithing you installed if you restore the emunand ona new SD without the content of that folder.

If there is nothing installed, your sysnand backup is almost the same of your emunand (there can be some differences if you changed something in sys settings or if you forrmatted one of the two). Respect to a sysnand dump the Gateway emunand has the first sector moved to the end of the file, but this GW thing is easy to handle).
 

nop90

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,136
Country
Italy
Since this doesn't work on cfw emunand, is there a guide somewhere for it?

for CFW on windows i use ddcopy, an open source port of dd on windows (google for it).

The command I use is:

bbcopy.exe bs=512 count=1931263 seek=1 ifd=1 of=cfwnand.bin

on linux should be:

dd if=/dev/sdX of=cfwnand.bin count=1931263 seek=1

wher X in sdX is a number you have to figure out.

The extracted nand has the same format of a sysnand backup, it's not like the gw emunand extracted with emunandtool.

To restore the extracted emunand i use emunandtool after modifing the cfw nand with the script contained in the cfw setup package, but you can use a dd command directly.
 

54321

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Messages
74
Trophies
0
XP
106
Country
United States
for CFW on windows i use ddcopy, an open source port of dd on windows (google for it).

The command I use is:

bbcopy.exe bs=512 count=1931263 seek=1 ifd=1 of=cfwnand.bin

on linux should be:

dd if=/dev/sdX of=cfwnand.bin count=1931263 seek=1

wher X in sdX is a number you have to figure out.

The extracted nand has the same format of a sysnand backup, it's not like the gw emunand extracted with emunandtool.

To restore the extracted emunand i use emunandtool after modifing the cfw nand with the script contained in the cfw setup package, but you can use a dd command directly.

Thanks for replying, but I don't know how to use this at all.
 

Lehas

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
194
Country
Gambia, The
Thanks that helped a lot! I created a backup of the emunand.
Now im trying to inject this backup to my new SD Card.
There is only one thing not working

At dd if=sd_tmp.bin of=/dev/sdX bs=8m (replaced capital M with m for Mac OS X) the terminal says:
Resource busy. sdX was in my case disk2.
How i went:
I put my new bigger SD card with the launcher.dat file in my 3DS and format emunand to create a partition. then I tried to inject my backup file (which i created with ur help) but it didn't work. What am i doing wrong this time?

EDIT: I found the solution. If ur Terminal says "Resource busy" u have to use diskutil umountDisk /dev/diskX (replace with ur identifier).

Now is everything working. Thanks everybody for ur help!
 

nop90

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,136
Country
Italy
Thanks that helped a lot! I created a backup of the emunand.
Now im trying to inject this backup to my new SD Card.
There is only one thing not working.
At dd if=sd_tmp.bin of=/dev/sdX bs=8m (replaced capital M with m for Mac OS X) the terminal says:
Resource busy. sdX was in my case disk2.
How i went:
I put my new bigger SD card with the launcher.dat file in my 3DS and format emunand to create a partition. then I tried to inject my backup file (which i created with ur help) but it didn't work. What am i doing wrong this time?

Try to unmount/remove (sorry don't know how works OS X) the SD then reinsert it.

The commands to inject the EMUNAND should be the inverse of that to extract it:

dd if=sd_tmp.bin of:/dev/diskX count=1931263 skip=1 seek=1
dd if=/dev/diskX of=sd_tmp.bin count=1 skip=1931264

but not sure if it's correct.

To make it simpler, backup the nand with

dd if=/dev/diskX of=sd_tmp.bin count=1931263 seek=1

and restore it with

dd of=/dev/diskX if=sd_tmp.bin count=1931263 skip=1

tha backup made this way can't be injected witnemunandtool, but you can't use it anyway :lol:

Let me know if it works (I never tryed it)
 

Lehas

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
194
Country
Gambia, The
So i though everything fine but it isn't. The size of my 32GB SD Card is downsized to 2,94 GB (exactly amount the size of my older SD Card GATEWAYNAND Partition where the Folder "Nintendo 3DS" was placed). Any ideas what i have to do?
Did I Use the wrong identifier (Take a look one the screenshot)? I used disk2.
To inject my Backup i used

dd if=dummy.bin of=sd_tmp.bin count=1
dd if=nand.bin of=sd_tmp.bin skip=1 seek=1
dd if=nand.bin of=sd_tmp.bin count=1 seek=1953792
dd if=sd_tmp.bin of=/dev/disk2 bs=8m
rm sd_tmp.bin

nop90
Can't try ur last post, cause I already formatted my old SD Card. But yeah to unmount was the solution. Now i have only another problem lol.
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 01.47.28.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 01.47.28.png
    123.5 KB · Views: 278
  • Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 01.48.15.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 01.48.15.png
    51.8 KB · Views: 261

nop90

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
1,556
Trophies
0
Location
Rome
XP
3,136
Country
Italy
So i though everything fine but it isn't. The size of my 32GB SD Card is downsized to 2,94 GB (exactly amount the size of my older SD Card GATEWAYNAND Partition where the Folder "Nintendo 3DS" was placed). Any ideas what i have to do?
Did I Use the wrong identifier (Take a look one the screenshot)? I used disk2.
To inject my Backup i used

dd if=dummy.bin of=sd_tmp.bin count=1
dd if=nand.bin of=sd_tmp.bin skip=1 seek=1
dd if=nand.bin of=sd_tmp.bin count=1 seek=1953792
dd if=sd_tmp.bin of=/dev/disk2 bs=8m
rm sd_tmp.bin

nop90
Can't try ur last post, cause I already formatted my old SD Card. But yeah to unmount was the solution. Now i have only another problem lol.

I tested yor commands, they're ok but are to restore an'exact copy af a SD on a new card of the same size.

dummy.bin is not completely "dummy" but is the first sector of the sd where are stored the partition size.

now you can extend your fat partition to the whole SD with some disk tool, or start again cleaning the whole SD, reformat a new emunand with GW sofware, then use my commands:

backup the nand with

dd if=/dev/diskX of=sd_tmp.bin count=1931263 seek=1

and restore it with

dd of=/dev/diskX if=sd_tmp.bin count=1931263 skip=1
 

Lehas

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
194
Country
Gambia, The
It didn't work :/ Is diskutil list showing me the wrong identifier maybe? (before formatting emunand and after formatting emunand on the new sd card) Im using disk2 for the commands. There is no freeware to merge two partitions on mac (camptune x cost 15€) so i have to stick with it and wait maybe two weeks until i visit a cousin with a windows laptop. didn't thought it would make so much problems -.-. Nevertheless thanks for ur great help!
 

Attachments

  • Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 15.14.44.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 15.14.44.png
    49.3 KB · Views: 253
  • Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 15.22.54.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 15.22.54.png
    50.3 KB · Views: 265
  • Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 15.38.56.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-01-05 um 15.38.56.png
    128.8 KB · Views: 256

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: I played the intro to far cry 5, that is like some crazy Jim Jones cult shit. Still its petty...