Homebrew Help creating a romhack

AsierMR

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Spain
I'm pretty new to romhacks, i've only tried moving and renaming some files, but i wanna know how i can change the actual code of the game, so i can create more menus, more objects...
I'll appreciate any help

PD: sorry if my english is bad

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
That may be jumping in at the deep end. Some modern PC games might have something more available here but most console stuff "adding a new menu item" is probably one of the harder things you can do -- you might well involve graphics, text, the internal game logic, expanding game binaries and more besides in doing it, graphics and text then being what most start out learning on but the rest can get very in depth.

I have a guide mostly focused on the GBA and DS here
https://gbatemp.net/threads/gbatemp-rom-hacking-documentation-project-new-2016-edition-out.73394/

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
OK you will need to find the binary. Binary being the term given to piece of code that sits in memory and the CPU runs/jumps around/responds to the contents of. Mostly such a binary should be instructions to run but sometimes there will be random bits of game asset in there as well (often including menus as they are so small a dev might not want to kick it to an external file).

The Wii had two processors though you will mostly only be using the powerpc core (the ARM one being reserved more for IOS stuff) and maybe fiddling with the GPU.
This would be the DOL format, a minor variation on a more popular format. Compression and protection (encryption is more of a disc level thing than a file level one) might also get in the way.
http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Category:File_formats
Said site also covers the hardware pretty well, but you might want to look at dolphin source code.