Homebrew Homebrew, confusion with noob

minansbold

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
So I have little experience with homebrew. I got oot3dhax on an old 10.7 3ds so I could use PKHeX, and haven't updated it since, and I use a new 3ds XL to play games and keep updated.
I thought that would be all I need, but recently I've played through DQIX and realised I needed to connect to WiFi for a lot of the quests, which was impossible as the DS servers no longer exist. I decided I would try to get a save editor for DS games on homebrew. I found the TWLsavetool with two options:
Download Poketransporter or Pokémon Dream Radar from the eshop, which would require me to update my 3ds which I fear could prevent me from being able to use OoThax.
Or download a version that requires CFW. I followed the 3ds.hacks.guide but noticed no difference, and when trying to download the FBI.cia it had an error. Not sure what I'm supposed to do, as I don't have a micro SD reader for the new 3ds XL.
After updating my 3ds would I still be able to use OoThax as I could before?
I'm such a noob with this stuff, and I'm sure you deal with users like me all the time, and for that I apologize, but I just want the DQIX DLC
-_-

Last edited by minansbold,
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
You should consider upgrading your 3DS with custom firmware for full homebrew control. You're using an old hax that's dainty and should be retired; it had its place. Time to move on to better.

Go back to reading that 3ds.hack.guide and figure out which of those methods listed in there is best for you in acquiring the bread-n-butter Luma3DS/GodMode9/boot9strap CFW setup.

You got:
  • ntrboot with compatible flashcart
  • DSiWare save or game injection
  • uprising newcomer, seedminer (for like £2).
There's also something called hardmod, but we won't talk about that one unless tinkering and soldering is your type of thing.

minansbold

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom