Tutorial  Updated

How to boot Linux on your Switch

THIS GUIDE IS DEPRECATED
THIS IS BETTER https://github.com/natinusala/painless-linux


I've successfully booted ArchLinux using ShofEL2. Here is a quick guide on how to do it - I'll assume you're computer literate and know how to use a terminal / Linux commands / git.
Everything is taken from the README of the ShofEL2 repo so if you want to go even faster, go read that instead.

Thanks to NightHammer1000 and Y2K-x for the help !

There is a simplified and faster version of this tutorial available here, with precompiled binaries so you don't have to build everything : https://github.com/SoulCipher/shofel2_linux

The result

Without a SD card ("waiting for root device mmcblk0p2") : https://photos.app.goo.gl/7y6ut5ObuHMUIMZg2
Stock Arch Linux : https://photos.app.goo.gl/yALqe3zMZRe2dSQf1
Arch Linux with LXDE : https://photos.app.goo.gl/xaEgRqeSi8jvAwpz5
RetroArch running : https://photos.app.goo.gl/vBLPo5wiBto1qiUH3
Arch Linux with GNOME : https://gbatemp.net/attachments/img_0005-jpg.121608/
Arch Linux with KDE : https://gbatemp.net/attachments/img_20180427_121605-jpg.121666/

What works / what doesn't
  • Desktop environment : Gnome, LXDE, KDE
  • Wi-Fi : works
    • You will need to reboot your Switch and run the exploit again to make the Wi-Fi work (it never works on the first boot)
    • Then enter the Network Manager Application and add your network from there
    • If it doesn't work, you will need to edit the configuration on the host computer (see the additional notes at the end of this post)
    • With LXDE : Can cause a kernel panic if used at the same time as Bluetooth
  • Bluetooth : works but Joy-Cons can't be paired
  • Touch screen : works, although LXDE is not very touch-friendly
  • Audio : doesn't work yet
  • GPU acceleration : works (via mesa), with OpenGL (and maybe Vulkan too ?)
  • Joy-Cons : not recognized
  • Volume buttons : working with Gnome but not doing anything since there is no audio device
  • Power button : doesn't do anything, no sleep mode, no graceful shutdown
  • USB : doesn't work
  • Dock : not tested yet, but I bet it doesn't do anything besides charging the battery
  • Power management / battery level : working with Gnome
What you'll need
  • A computer running Linux with a blue USB SuperSpeed port, or a Mac
    • A Linux VM can work in theory, but it depends on how the USB passthrough is implemented (apparently VMWare works, VirtualBox doesn't)
  • A USB A-to-C cable (with data support, obviously)
    • be careful as cheap cables were reported to work randomly / not work at all
  • Some time (you know, Linux is kinda large)

Prep work

First, you'll need to install the required toolchains. Open this link and download the tar.gz binaries for
  • aarch64-linux-gnu
  • arm-linux-gnueabi
Be careful to choose the right architecture for your PC (for me it was x86_64 so "gcc-linaro-7.2.1-2017.11-x86_64_arm-linux-gnueabi.tar.xz").

Once you have them, extract them somewhere nice and add the "bin" (not "lib" as I previously stated) folder of both toolchains to your PATH ("$ export PATH=$PATH:/path/to/toolchain1/lib:/path/to/toolchain2/lib"). The building process won't work otherwise.

Then, install those dependencies (how to install them and their name might depend on your distribution) :
  • build-essential (sorry I didn't add it it was obvious to me)
  • libssl-dev
  • swig
  • bison
  • pkg-config
  • flex
  • zlib1g-dev
  • python3
  • python-dev
  • python3-pip
  • pyusb 1.0.0 : "$ sudo pip3 install pyusb==1.0.0"
  • libusb-1.0-0-dev

Compiling

Clone each required repository :

Code:
$ git clone https://github.com/fail0verflow/shofel2.git
$ git clone --recursive --depth=1 https://github.com/fail0verflow/switch-coreboot.git coreboot
$ git clone https://github.com/fail0verflow/switch-u-boot.git u-boot
$ git clone --depth=1 https://github.com/fail0verflow/switch-linux.git linux
$ git clone https://github.com/boundarydevices/imx_usb_loader.git

You can grab a coffee or two because Linux has more than 5 million files to download.

Then, build everything :

Code:
$ cd shofel2/exploit
$ make

Code:
$ cd u-boot
$ export CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-linux-gnu-
$ make nintendo-switch_defconfig
$ make

Code:
$ cd coreboot
$ make nintendo_switch_defconfig
$ make iasl
$ make

If you have a tegra_mtc.bin file error, you'll have to extract it from a Pixel C stock image :
"$ ./build/util/cbfstool/cbfstool bootloader-dragon-google_smaug.7900.97.0.img extract -n fallback/tegra_mtc -f tegra_mtc.bin"

Or you can download it directly from here : https://0w0.st/tegra_mtc.bin (thanks to @CptPotato for uploading this)

You'll have to put it in the "coreboot/src/soc/nvidia/tegra210" directory.

Code:
$ cd imx_usb_loader
$ git reset --hard 0a322b01cacf03e3be727e3e4c3d46d69f2e343e
$ make

The big one :

Code:
$ cd linux
$ export ARCH=arm64
$ export CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-linux-gnu-
$ make nintendo-switch_defconfig
$ make

If you encounter issues about a missing rule "/lib/firmware/nvidia/tegra210/vic04_ucode.bin" for the target "firmware" you'll have to :
  • install the firmware-misc-nonfree package
  • if you can't install it, or if it still doesn't work, download the package manually from debian sid and extract the file "/lib/firmware/nvidia/tegra210/vic04_ucode.bin" (from the root of your PC, not on the cloned repo) from the DEB (and chmod it if needed)
If you encounter issues about a missing rule "/lib/firmware/brcm/brcmfmac4356-pcie.txt", download this file and put it in "/lib/firmware/brcm/" (from the root of your PC, not on the cloned repo)

Building the rootfs

This is the annoying part. Download the archive / image corresponding to the distribution you want to use :
If it's a tarball you just downloaded

While it's downloading, you'll have to take a microSD card and, using the software of your choice (I used GParted) :
  • remove every existing partition to only have unallocated space on it (do I need to tell you that you're going to loose everything on the card ?)
  • create a tiny FAT32 partition (I chose 200mb but it doesn't matter) - that'll be mmcbkl0p1, you can label it "garbage"
  • create an ext4 partition on the remaining part of the card - that'll be mmcblk0p2, you can label it "rootfs"
  • it's important that the FAT32 partition comes first and the ext4 one comes after - on the Switch, Linux will look for mmcblk0p2, the second partition, if you have scrolling boot logs and then back to RCM it means you did it wrong
Once the rootfs tarball is downloaded, you can simple extract it to the mounting point of the ext4 partition you just created :

Code:
$ tar xvf ArchLinuxARM-aarch64-latest.tar.gz -C /mounting/point/of/ext4/partition && sync
$ cp ArchLinuxARM-aarch64-latest.tar.gz /mounting/point/of/ext4/partition/root && sync

("/mounting/point/of/ext4/partition/root" is the "root" directory on the partition)

Don't forget to properly eject the SD Card !

If "tar xvf" doesn't work for you you can install "bsdtar" and use "bsdtar -xpf" instead

Then you can put the SD card in the console.

If it's a img / bin file you just downloaded

You can simply write it on your SD card using :
  • If you're on Windows, Ether or Win32DiskImager
  • If you're on Linux / Mac OS : "sudo dd if=yourimage.img of=/dev/sdX && sync" where /dev/sdX is the device of your SD card (unmounted)
You will probably want to open a partition manager to resize the ext4 partition once it's flashed, so that it fits your SD card.

Then you can put the SD card in the console.

Booting linux

Run the exploit :

Code:
$ cd shofel2/exploit
$ sudo ./shofel2.py cbfs.bin ../../coreboot/build/coreboot.rom

Your terminal should now be waiting for the Switch to enter RCM mode.

To do so : (I don't have pictures but that's the same method as fusée gelée, just look at some video tutorials)
  • plug the Switch on your PC using the USB A-to-C cable - use a blue SuperSpeed port if you have one
  • shut it down
  • remove the right joy-con
  • using a method of your choice, short the 10th pin of the right joy-con (the last pin on the right, away from the screen, closer to the back) with the ground : that can be pin 1, 2 or 7, that can also be a screw on the joy-con rack or the console's fan - I personnaly stick a RPi jumper wire in the fan and touch the 10th pin on the other side, works everytime (like this)
  • keep the pins shorted and power the Switch while pressing the volume UP button
If it worked, the console will show a black screen and you'll see the exploit running on your terminal. If you see the Nintendo logo, it has failed. You can power off the console and try again.

Then, run those last commands :

Code:
$ cd shofel2/usb_loader
$ ../../u-boot/tools/mkimage -A arm64 -T script -C none -n "boot.scr" -d switch.scr switch.scr.img
$ sudo ../../imx_usb_loader/imx_usb -c .

Linux should then boot on your console - first the boot logs with the penguins, and then an ArchLinux login prompt. Voilà !
Again, if you have the boot logs and then a black screen, it means you did the SD card part wrong.

Additional notes

Hardware graphics acceleration


The most recents image already contain this fix.

To add mesa drivers install this package using pacman :
https://0w0.st/mesa-full-tegra-r101876.bf5e0276b6-1-aarch64.pkg.tar.xz

You will need a working internet connection to do so.

Then, use this script to choose your power profile : https://0w0.st/power.sh

Full speed RAM


According to the blog post ("Linux on Switch boot chain" section), you need to extract a file from a Pixel C factory image in order to have the RAM working at full speed. I didn't do it so I won't cover it here.

Fixing calibration issues of the touch screen (thanks to @Wizardy)

To fix calibration issues of the touch screen, edit the file /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-evdev.confg (of the rootfs)

And change the InputClass section to :

Code:
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "evdev touchscreen catchall"
        MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "evdev"
        Option "InvertX" "no"
        Option "InvertY" "yes"
        Option "SwapAxes" "yes"
        Option "Calibration" "0 1279 0 719"
EndSection

Wi-Fi

To setup Wi-Fi, mount the rootfs partition on your host PC and edit the configuration for your network in the file "/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections" (if it doesn't exist, take Gigaspot).

To have a working Wi-Fi you must reboot your Switch and run the exploit again each time you power it off

Moving the rootfs to another partition

If you want to move the rootfs to another partition on your SD card, edit the "shofel2/usb_loader/switch.scr" file and replace "/dev/mmcblk0p2" by the partition you want to use.
 
Last edited by natinusala,

EpicLPer

Your friendly Austrian IT Guy
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,060
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Austria
Website
epiclper.com
XP
1,151
Country
Austria
I've figured out how to get the gpu running at fullspeed as F0F did! Turns out it's a power management issue with the nouveau drivers, and all you have to do is run this command as root:
Code:
echo 0d > /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/pstate

This will force the GPU clock to run at 998mhz.

Attached are the old and new results of glxspheres.

@natinusala I can confirm that the gnome image does have working Wi-Fi
Oh awesome!
 

Rainbowfied Pokemaster

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
47
Trophies
0
XP
191
Country
United States
So now when i try to make coreboot I get this error:

Code:
toolchain.inc:194: No compiler found for 'arm64' architecture. Install one or use the coreboot toolchain?
toolchain.inc:212:
toolchain.inc:213: To build the entire coreboot toolchain: run 'make crossgcc'
toolchain.inc:217: For more toolchain build targets: run 'make help_toolchain'
toolchain.inc:218:
toolchain.inc:228: *** Halting the build.  Stop.

I installed the one for arm (since it had that included in the error before), but now i don't know what to do with arm64.
 

RHY3756547

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2014
Messages
235
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
514
Country
I've figured out how to get the gpu running at fullspeed as F0F did! Turns out it's a power management issue with the nouveau drivers, and all you have to do is run this command as root:
Code:
echo 0d > /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/pstate

This will force the GPU clock to run at 998mhz.

Attached are the old and new results of glxspheres.

@natinusala I can confirm that the gnome image does have working Wi-Fi
You should be careful with this - the switch is meant to be clocked at 768 in docked. Setting max speed draws too much power when on battery and using cpu+gpu intensive apps, and will likely cause power failure.
 

KevinX8

Proud user of The Dark Theme
Member
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Down there
XP
1,013
Country
Ok I finally got eveything working and linux seems to work fine, but the touchscreen does stop responding to left clicks after a few minutes requiring a reboot and while on the stock switch system while playing games the switch randomly switches off. I'm not sure why either happen but the second one only started happening after I got linux to work
 

EpicLPer

Your friendly Austrian IT Guy
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,060
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Austria
Website
epiclper.com
XP
1,151
Country
Austria
Ok I finally got eveything working and linux seems to work fine, but the touchscreen does stop responding to left clicks after a few minutes requiring a reboot and while on the stock switch system while playing games the switch randomly switches off. I'm not sure why either happen but the second one only started happening after I got linux to work
It seems to screw with the battery calibration a bit, just boot it into recovery mode and turn it off, should fix this.
 

renhei

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
64
Trophies
0
XP
282
Country
United States
What the hell is this 131mb disk that the Arch image with Chromium and sudo creates? I can't even find where it exists and how to get rid of it. Also, it shrank my FAT32 partition which I wanted larger to store Switch data still. Using dd just corrupted the file system, I had to use Etcher on Linux for it to work. I'd much much rather have a simple archive to extract from.
 
Last edited by renhei,

kombos

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
140
Trophies
0
Location
Universe
XP
167
Country
Ukraine
@Gigaa @Others - Whenever you're doing images or rootfs you can include git and script I made for NAND dumping, hence builds will have additional value :} At least that's something for Switch Linux which apparently fully working.
You can grab it from my repo https://github.com/SoulCipher/sw_nand_dump and put whole folder in /opt the hardcoded path will be correct. You can get more info in concurrent tutorial post https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-how-to-dump-switch-nand-using-linux.502201/
 

kombos

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
140
Trophies
0
Location
Universe
XP
167
Country
Ukraine
What the hell is this 131mb disk that the Arch image with Chromium and sudo creates? I can't even find where it exists and how to get rid of it. Also, it shrank my FAT32 partition which I wanted larger to store Switch data still. Thanks whoever made the bin image. :| I'd much much rather have an archive than a bin image that fucks everything up.

Probably I did that. However you proved that you didn't read tutorial, hence it's your fault. There is a lot more decent images or rootfs archives linked there.
 

Gigaa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
108
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Norway
Website
giga.is
XP
130
Country
Norway
@Gigaa @Others - Whenever you're doing images or rootfs you can include git and script I made for NAND dumping, hence builds will have additional value :} At least that's something for Switch Linux which apparently fully working.
You can grab it from my repo https://github.com/SoulCipher/sw_nand_dump and put whole folder in /opt the hardcoded path will be correct. You can get more info in concurrent tutorial post https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-how-to-dump-switch-nand-using-linux.502201/
Making a KDE build right now so i will include it. I will also be making a small bash script so that people can more easily swap from low(307.2MHz) normal(768MHz) to high(998MHz). Might add a warning that high is not recommended.
 

renhei

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
64
Trophies
0
XP
282
Country
United States
Probably I did that. However you proved that you didn't read tutorial, hence it's your fault. There is a lot more decent images or rootfs archives linked there.
No, I've read it. I wanted to use the Gnome one, but at current speed it'll take about 22 hours from that host, so not very viable.

Could someone upload the Gnome image to a different host, please?
 

EpicLPer

Your friendly Austrian IT Guy
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,060
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Austria
Website
epiclper.com
XP
1,151
Country
Austria
Making a KDE build right now so i will include it. I will also be making a small bash script so that people can more easily swap from low(307.2MHz) normal(768MHz) to high(998MHz). Might add a warning that high is not recommended.
At this point you should probably start your own thread instead of keeping updates here, it's a mess already :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: natinusala

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: I played the intro to far cry 5, that is like some crazy Jim Jones cult shit. Still its petty...