Homebrew Feedback Misc Need help with 3ds arm9 touchscreen code

AliceCE

Rookie 3DS Homebrew Dev
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2019
Messages
203
Trophies
0
Location
Amogus World Theme Park, BR
XP
544
Country
United States
How the hell do i get touchscreen coordinates without the 3ds hid.h file, i have been looking for this shit for weeks and nothing has come up besides mazes of fucking header files leading to dead ends and code that doesn't make sense to me, i just want to get two integers and a bool god dammit
 

ghjfdtg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
1,366
Trophies
1
XP
3,302
Country
What do you want to do with bare metal ARM9 code? Unfortunately firm development is pretty niche and no proper libs exist for this. Getting the touchscreen up is pretty complicated.
 

AliceCE

Rookie 3DS Homebrew Dev
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2019
Messages
203
Trophies
0
Location
Amogus World Theme Park, BR
XP
544
Country
United States

zoogie

playing around in the end of life
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,560
Trophies
2
XP
15,000
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
https://github.com/d0k3/GodMode9/blob/master/arm9/source/common/hid.c:
bool HID_ReadTouchState(u16 *x, u16 *y)
u32 HID_ReadRawTouchState(void)
const TouchBox* TouchBoxGet(u32* id, const u16 x, const u16 y, const TouchBox* tbs, const u32 tbn)


Godmode9 is the only arm9 app that has touchscreen that I know of so you don't have many choices.
Make my own OS for the 3DS, one more PDA oriented than gaming oriented.
...
Umm, that's quite a task for even the best programmer around. The best anyone has done is reimplement the odd module or two.
 

ghjfdtg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
1,366
Trophies
1
XP
3,302
Country
Make my own OS for the 3DS, one more PDA oriented than gaming oriented.
If you are serious about this i would start with the ARM11 CPU. It is needed for most of the "fun" stuff like audio, graphics and more and it runs circles around the ARM9.
 

ghjfdtg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
1,366
Trophies
1
XP
3,302
Country
I don't know how to get access to the arm11, i'm basing my code off of a cleaned, wiped of Decrypt9WIP.
You might wanna look at GodMode9 or any other modern bare metal homebrew. It boils down to including ARM11 code and setting the ARM11 entrypoint. firmtool will build the firm file and set the entrypoint for you automatically.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    NinStar @ NinStar: CRAZY HAMBURGER