Hacking plz halp me load ISOs from USB!

ext23

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
hi there,

i'm pretty new to the world of wii modding/homebrew - i only got my wii two days ago. naturally the first thing i did was to softmod it.

i have a japanese system which i bought second-hand. the first thing i did was to upgrade the system firmware - i believe i'm using 4.0j now.

i followed the instructions on this guide: http://www.mikeandheth.com/games/109-store...tem-menu-4.html ...and everything installed properly. homebrew channel works, all the software works. i installed the custom IOS and homebrew channel as per that guide.

i am able to install WADs using WAD manager so i'm pretty confident there is nothing wrong with my softmodding.

i formatted my drive using WBFS manager 3.0 and copied super mario galaxy (PAL) over to it. i am mostly using the cover flow USB ISO loader but each time i get up to the intro movie where bowser bombs the living piss out of the festival, the game freezes. the same thing happens when i use the GX loader.

i have tried lots of different custom IOSs in an attempt to remedy this problem. currently i am using the cIOS38 r13 available from this very site. i also tried completely reformatting my HD and copying the ISO over again. my portable HD is a HP Pocket Media Drive 160gb (i saw no mention of this on the compatibility list, but since it's only 12 months old i have no real reason to suspect the drive is faulty or out-of-date.

if anybody can suggest what might be wrong and what i should do to fix this problem, please PLEASE let me know! i've been trying all weekend to fix this problem and have searched the forums extensively for clues. thanks!

ext23

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
cheers, thanks for that link.

i have definitely turned off wiiconnect 24 and i only have one USB device plugged in - the drive itself. interestingly, sometimes the drive isn't detected when plugged into the first USB port...

ext23

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP