R4 Pokemon save file corrupted

mallow123

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Philippines
Hi I don't usually do this and I'm new to these kinda techie stuff but I have read about other problems about this stuff but I just can't seem to understand. I have a 2021 R4 SDHC Gold Pro Cartridge on my DSi and I've played Pokemon games mainly pokemon white and Black 2. The Micro Sd card i use for the R4 is a Sandisk Ultra 32 gb I have formatted it to fat32. I already have the YSmenu to bypass the timebomb thanks to Youtube.

I've been playing pokemon white for about 3 days now and then all of a sudden when I booted the game up it says that the " save file has been erased due to corruption or damage" and all my other games where I have saved also disappeared. So what do I do to not repeat this again? or anything that i should know of? Thankss!

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Trophies
Website
xn--rck9c.xn--tckwe
XP
Country
United States
Try reformatting the SD card and testing it with h2testw or f3, as described in dsi.cfw.guide's formatting instructions. If you want to try recover any data do that before formatting and testing though, no guarantees it'll get anything but if you're lucky you may get something back.

If testing the SD comes back with problems either the SD is dying or it's a fake. If it says it's fine then I'm not really sure why that would've happened... I guess make sure you're never turning off the console mid-save and perhaps still consider getting a new SD card, this isn't a common occurrence so it's probably either a bad SD or bad luck in some way.

Also, making regular backups never hurts, even if it's a good brand SD cards still aren't known for being the most reliable devices. A backup will always be better than trying to recover data after it's lost.