Reading from/Writing to, Memory Full, Black Screen Errors when running WADs with USBLoaderGX on a new emuNand due to shared content missing

qWii

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Spain
I would just like to share a problem I recently encountered with building emunands and installing wads, and a bypass to fix it. If I'm not wromg, the solution will require some coding in USBLGX, I'm not sure it is worth it. I'm just a Newbie, so the root cause may be well known, but I haven't been able to find any reference to it (or I may not have googled enough).

Warning: this is a long post just to describe a very infrequent (but annoying) problem

Spoiler Alert: use ShowMiiWads whenever you can

* Scenario: You build a new emunand from ModMii as minimal as possible, probably from a different region than your Wii, N for all options, no default channels, no additional wads (by the way, the error can occur even with an exported NAND if you've never installed a VC or a WiiWare in your Wii... highly improbable scenario in most cases, but not an impossible one). After building the emunand, you install different wads in it using USBLGX.

* Errors: Titles that worked on your previous emunand now throw different errors during loading or while executing from your new emunand:

"the file is corrupted"
"an error occured during the process of reading from or writting to the wii system memory"
"there is not enough available space in the wii system memory"
Black screen forever before health message on WiiWare.
Wad works fine but freezes when you press the Home button to exit (before the Start menu appears)

* Cause: Neither USBLGX (nor WiiFlow) install the WAD shared content on the emunand ! If the shared content is not already present in the /shared1 emunand folder (as can happen in the scenarios described above), the wads will not work, no matter what you try.