ROM Hack [Release] .Net 3DS Toolkit - Extract and Repack 3DS ROMs (and CIAs)

DocKlokMan

Plugin Dev
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
3,009
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
4,571
Country
United States
It currently doesn't. Here's the args I'm using:
https://github.com/evandixon/DotNet3dsToolkit/blob/master/DotNet3dsToolkit/Converter.vb#L711

Do you know what args should be used to set the version numbers?
Code:
Await RunProgram(Path_makerom, $"-f cia -o ""{outputPath}""{partitionArgs}"" -major [0-63] -minor [0-63] -micro [0-15]")
I didn't realize the source was available or I would have just done it myself, lol.

It appears this version number is able to be found with your tool ctrtool, perhaps it could store them and then auto-fill them in (but also allow us to change them if we need)?
 
Last edited by DocKlokMan,
D

Deleted User

Guest
Let's say i want to extract the folders of a rom for 3d models. Does this tool works to extract those folders?
 

evandixon

PMD Researcher
OP
Developer
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
1,725
Trophies
1
Website
projectpokemon.org
XP
2,360
Country
United States
It appears this version number is able to be found with your tool 3dstool, perhaps it could store them and then auto-fill them in (but also allow us to change them if we need)?
Where are the version numbers stored? If it's somewhere 3dstool can read from the extracted files, It might be easier for 3dstool to auto-detect the numbers, overriding them only if user wants to.
Let's say i want to extract the folders of a rom for 3d models. Does this tool works to extract those folders?
If these folders are in the romfs, then yes.
 

DocKlokMan

Plugin Dev
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
3,009
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
4,571
Country
United States
Where are the version numbers stored? If it's somewhere 3dstool can read from the extracted files, It might be easier for 3dstool to auto-detect the numbers, overriding them only if user wants to.
CTRTool --info <file> will output the Title Version as X.Y.Z in which X is Major, Y is minor and Z is micro.
 
Last edited by DocKlokMan,

DocKlokMan

Plugin Dev
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
3,009
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
4,571
Country
United States
Ah, never mind, turns out this tool chokes on unpacking Update files since they lack a banner.bin and the extraction never finishes after giving an error. Since version number is only truly important for update files that makes implementing them unnecessary since the tool doesn't handle update files.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I have my .3ds file. How do I extract the folders from It? I would like to edit/port 3d models to other programs
 

evandixon

PMD Researcher
OP
Developer
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
1,725
Trophies
1
Website
projectpokemon.org
XP
2,360
Country
United States
Exception Details:
System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Die Datei "C:\Users\Pokemon\Desktop\bitte\ExeFS\banner.bnr" konnte nicht gefunden werden.
Dateiname: "C:\Users\Pokemon\Desktop\bitte\ExeFS\banner.bnr"
bei System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
bei System.IO.File.InternalMove(String sourceFileName, String destFileName, Boolean checkHost)
bei DotNet3dsToolkit.Converter._Closure$__62-0.VB$StateMachine___Lambda$__0.MoveNext() in D:\TeamCity\buildAgent\work\c024c1966f7da4c7\DotNet3dsToolkit\Converter.vb:Zeile 242.
--- Ende der Stapelüberwachung vom vorhergehenden Ort, an dem die Ausnahme ausgelöst wurde ---
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task task)
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNotification(Task task)
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ValidateEnd(Task task)
bei DotNet3dsToolkit.Converter.VB$StateMachine_62_ExtractPartition0.MoveNext() in D:\TeamCity\buildAgent\work\c024c1966f7da4c7\DotNet3dsToolkit\Converter.vb:Zeile 256.
--- Ende der Stapelüberwachung vom vorhergehenden Ort, an dem die Ausnahme ausgelöst wurde ---
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task task)
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNotification(Task task)
bei DotNet3dsToolkit.Converter.VB$StateMachine_82_ExtractCIA.MoveNext() in D:\TeamCity\buildAgent\work\c024c1966f7da4c7\DotNet3dsToolkit\Converter.vb:Zeile 530.
--- Ende der Stapelüberwachung vom vorhergehenden Ort, an dem die Ausnahme ausgelöst wurde ---
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task task)
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNotification(Task task)
bei DotNet3dsToolkit.Converter.VB$StateMachine_81_ExtractCIA.MoveNext() in D:\TeamCity\buildAgent\work\c024c1966f7da4c7\DotNet3dsToolkit\Converter.vb:Zeile 508.
--- Ende der Stapelüberwachung vom vorhergehenden Ort, an dem die Ausnahme ausgelöst wurde ---
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task task)
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNotification(Task task)
bei DotNet3dsToolkit.Converter.VB$StateMachine_84_ExtractAuto.MoveNext() in D:\TeamCity\buildAgent\work\c024c1966f7da4c7\DotNet3dsToolkit\Converter.vb:Zeile 570.
--- Ende der Stapelüberwachung vom vorhergehenden Ort, an dem die Ausnahme ausgelöst wurde ---
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task task)
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNotification(Task task)
bei ToolkitForm.Form1.VB$StateMachine_23_btnExtract_Click.MoveNext() in D:\TeamCity\buildAgent\work\c024c1966f7da4c7\ToolkitForm\Form1.vb:Zeile 138.
--- Ende der Stapelüberwachung vom vorhergehenden Ort, an dem die Ausnahme ausgelöst wurde ---
bei System.Runtime.CompilerServices.AsyncMethodBuilderCore.<>c.<ThrowAsync>b__6_0(Object state)

Loaded Assemblies:
--------------------
mscorlib, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\mscorlib.dll

ToolkitForm, Version=1.4.6.18, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
C:\Users\Pokemon\Desktop\tool kit\ToolkitForm.exe

System, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System\v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089\System.dll

System.Windows.Forms, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Windows.Forms\v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089\System.Windows.Forms.dll

System.Drawing, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Drawing\v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a\System.Drawing.dll

Microsoft.VisualBasic, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\Microsoft.VisualBasic\v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a\Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll

System.Core, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Core\v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089\System.Core.dll

System.Configuration, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Configuration\v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a\System.Configuration.dll

System.Xml, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Xml\v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089\System.Xml.dll

DotNet3dsToolkit, Version=1.4.6.18, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
C:\Users\Pokemon\Desktop\tool kit\DotNet3dsToolkit.dll

SkyEditor.Core, Version=4.0.7.1, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
C:\Users\Pokemon\Desktop\tool kit\SkyEditor.Core.dll

System.Runtime, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Runtime\v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a\System.Runtime.dll

mscorlib.resources, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=de, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\mscorlib.resources\v4.0_4.0.0.0_de_b77a5c561934e089\mscorlib.resources.dll

--------------------
User Message:
An unhandled exception has occurred.
You can continue running the program, but please report this error.

I am ever getting this error all the time, does enyone know what i am doing wrong?
Make sure your ROM is fully decrypted. Last time I accidentally used an encrypted ROM, that's the error I got.
 
  • Like
Reactions: outeh
D

Deleted User

Guest
Now i don't get anymore the framework message, but...
JUOeI
http://imgur.com/a/JUOeI
I don't reallyu understand what it says, i dragged the file in tool kit and it appeared...they are all in the same folder too...
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Open command prompt and follow the directions in the first post.
I opened cmd window, and inserted my folder name and then toolkit like there\Poochy & Yoshi's Woolly World.3ds and it said invalid batch or somthing like this
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan
    I rather enjoy a life of taking it easy. I haven't reached that life yet though.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    updated ship of harkinian, gonna install some hd texture pack
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I might download rayman revolution for my ps3
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I may try the new ram site, and download more RAM to my Switch. Not sure if ddr3 is the right ram
    for it tho. Edit- no it uses floppy Ram, just like @AncientBoi
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    aeiou
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    And sometimes Z
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, MAGA supporters be wearing tin foil hats lol.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, whats maga?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    It stands for Maniacs Against General Acceptance
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, people rejecting general consensus about stuff?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yup, nuh its really just Trump followers
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, im not american so i dont care about trump
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    or us elections
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Me niether, us north Koreans don't care
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i don't care either, even if i'm american
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    truth be told, i agree with psi, i dislike both candidates, but i'd probably vote trump simply because the economy was better during his presidency
    +1
  • AngryCinnabon @ AngryCinnabon:
    Just be careful, if trump ends up winning and using project 2025 America might really change...for the worse.
  • AngryCinnabon @ AngryCinnabon:
    I'm not american and even that sends shivers down my spine.
  • AngryCinnabon @ AngryCinnabon:
    anything that offers trump an opportunity to become an actual dictator
    is bad in my book, i could care less if it wasn't for that...
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Canada: America's Russia
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    people are so dramatic that I can't even tell if they are being serious
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Why so serious!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    @BakerMan, yeah that's about the only reason I would vote for Trump over Biden.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    In my opinion on all other factors they are pretty much the same.
    +1
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: In my opinion on all other factors they are pretty much the same. +1