Homebrew SDL 3DS - Getting an image to screen

orochii

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Costa Rica
Hi! I'm new on homebrew and specially on 3DS homebrew. I want to do a simple game just for trying out stuff. I decided to use SDL 1.2, as it should simplify some of the low-level stuff, so I thought it was a good compromise.

I've done simple small games with SDL before, I'm not an expert but I'd say I can do stuff happen at the very least. The issue is I don't really know the specifics of how to make the game read the image and display it on 3DS. I know of the RomFS (by my understanding it is like a virtual file system?), so I threw my images in there, but I'm probably missing steps, since all I get is a black screen. I also don't get any errors, at least when testing it out on Citra.

My code looks exactly like this, since I'm just starting to dabble in, I just threw LazyFoo's SDL 1.2 Tutorial first step and did a couple minimal changes here and there (I'm deleting spaces and comments just for the sake of space):
Code:
#include <SDL/SDL.h>

int main( int argc, char* args[] )
{
    SDL_Surface* hello = NULL;
    SDL_Surface* screen = NULL;
    SDL_Init( SDL_INIT_EVERYTHING );
    screen = SDL_SetVideoMode(400, 480, 32, SDL_DUALSCR);
    hello = SDL_LoadBMP( "title.bmp" );
    SDL_BlitSurface( hello, NULL, screen, NULL );
    SDL_Flip( screen );
    SDL_Delay( 2000 );
    SDL_FreeSurface( hello );
    SDL_Quit();
    return 0;
}

Run make, it compiles, so SDL should be properly configured on the makefile and my environment should be all set.
I run that, the game doesn't crash, but doesn't display my image (a dumb 320x240 white canvas with some letters on it).