Tesla - The Nintendo Switch Overlay Menu

fhwyjbd.png

Hey all.
I'd like to introduce to you, Tesla: My answer to the growing need for proper ingame front ends for sysmodules.


What is this?

  • Tesla consists of three individual parts. nx-ovlloader, the Tesla menu and libtesla.
    • nx-ovlloader is basically nx-hbloader ported to run as a sysmodule. It runs in the background and loads overlay NROs (.ovl files) given to it.
    • Tesla Menu is the equivalent to the hbmenu. It's the initial thing loaded by nx-ovlloader and acts as a hub for you to select all other overlays.
    • libtesla is where it becomes interesting for developers. It's an easy to use library that handles layer creation, UI drawing and all the overlay UX. It makes it very easy to create a new overlay for anything
  • A frontend for sysmodules that before required either a homebrew or a config file to change settings or used sounds or the LED to give the user feedback.

What is this not?

  • A tool that lets you create overlays that are always visible. Overlays can get unloaded way to easily for this.
  • An excuse to port absolutely everything to a overlay. Nobody's going to need a title manager overlay. If you consider making a overlay, keep it simple. You don't have a whole lot of memory to work with.


How do I use this?

First of all, download the latest release of nx-ovlloader and the Tesla Menu from the GitHub Release page and extract it onto your SD card.
After a reboot, hold down L and DPad Down and push on the right joy stick to bring up Tesla at any time. Navigation works as you imagine it.
Similar to normal homebrews, you place your .ovl files in the /switch/.overlays folder on your SD card.


Screenshots

W8yN2M6.jpg

fdfWAXw.jpg


Notice

Make sure to use the latest Atmosphere release when trying this as older versions ( as the one SX OS uses too ) probably won't have enough memory available for this to run. Overlays do take a lot of space so nx-ovlloader reserves 6MB. 2MB for framebuffers and around 4MB for overlay developers to use in their overlays.


GitHub

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader
Tesla Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu


For Developers

libtesla: https://github.com/WerWolv/libtesla
Tesla build template: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Template


Download

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader/releases/latest
Tesla-Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu/releases/latest
EdiZon Overlay: http://werwolv.net/downloads/EdiZonOverlay.zip ( As a little preview for what this is capable of and what EdiZon 4.0.0 will have even more of soon :) )

Special thank especially to averne without him, this would not have been possible!


Obligatory Donation links

GitHub Sponsors https://github.com/sponsors/WerWolv
PayPal https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=KP7XRJAND9KWU&source=url
Patreon https://www.patreon.com/werwolv



Thanks a lot and have fun using and extending it :)
 
Last edited by WerWolv,

felonius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
268
Trophies
1
XP
2,233
Country
I have everything in there respectively folder. ovlmenu, edizon overley and overloader. But the problem is to open the menu. Pressing the button combantion L, d-pad down and the right stick does not bring up tesla menu.
r u docked?
if so need to be 100% on tv for overlay to show.
 

piek50

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
687
Trophies
0
XP
2,232
Country
Suriname
r u docked?
if so need to be 100% on tv for overlay to show.
Thanks for the hint. I'm in handheld mode i will try later when i'm @ home in dock.
Is it now so that it only works in dock mode if that's the case then i think i'm gonna have to skip it and use codes like the old days from the Edizon nro because i always play in handheld mode.:(
 

masagrator

The patches guy
Developer
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
6,307
Trophies
3
XP
12,101
Country
Poland
Thanks for the hint. I'm in handheld mode i will try later when i'm @ home in dock.
Is it now so that it only works in dock mode if that's the case then i think i'm gonna have to skip it and use codes like the old days from the Edizon nro because i always play in handheld mode.:(
No. In handheld it works completely fine. Issue is only with docked mode if you use tv scaling.
 

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
8,747
Trophies
2
XP
6,317
Country

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
6,436
Trophies
3
Age
46
Location
At my chair.
XP
19,144
Country
Colombia
I have dowload and place everything in there folders and works perfecly. The problem is the tesla menu won't open after i press the buttons like always.
What is the contents of SD:/CONFIG/TESLA
Does Edison work in TV mode? I updated Tesla Menu, EdizonOverlay and OvlSysmodules to the latest version. I can only activate it in tablet mode.
yes it does, and the overlays need to be compiled with latest libtesla which corrected a bug on tv mode.
 

piek50

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
687
Trophies
0
XP
2,232
Country
Suriname
I have read al the suggestion and the one that i'm missing is de sd:/Config/tesla.
What i have is Sd:\config folder with JKSV, nx-hbmenu and sys-clk folders but nothing of tesla in de folder.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
6,436
Trophies
3
Age
46
Location
At my chair.
XP
19,144
Country
Colombia
I have read al the suggestion and the one that i'm missing is de sd:/Config/tesla.
What i have is Sd:\config folder with JKSV, nx-hbmenu and sys-clk folders but nothing of tesla in de folder.
you need that file to tell tesla which combination of buttons you want to be the one which opens tesla menu, an example is:

SD:/CONFIG/TESLA/config.ini :

Code:
[tesla]
key_combo=L+ZL+R+ZR

on this case you need to press simultaneusly L, R, ZL and ZR buttons to open the menu.
 

raynelogens

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
176
Trophies
1
XP
1,986
Country
United States
you need that file to tell tesla which combination of buttons you want to be the one which opens tesla menu, an example is:

SD:/CONFIG/TESLA/config.ini :

Code:
[tesla]
key_combo=L+ZL+R+ZR

on this case you need to press simultaneusly L, R, ZL and ZR buttons to open the menu.
I dont have that config either for Tesla. How can I get it?
 

piek50

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2019
Messages
687
Trophies
0
XP
2,232
Country
Suriname
you need that file to tell tesla which combination of buttons you want to be the one which opens tesla menu, an example is:

SD:/CONFIG/TESLA/config.ini :

Code:
[tesla]
key_combo=L+ZL+R+ZR

on this case you need to press simultaneusly L, R, ZL and ZR buttons to open the menu.
Many thanks it work now. The problem was to creat the .ini for tesla.
And also thanks to others that try to help me out. :)
Post automatically merged:

I dont have that config either for Tesla. How can I get it?
If you don't have it yet.
 

Attachments

  • TESLA.zip
    318 bytes · Views: 46

alexj9626

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2016
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,512
Country
Panama
Emuiibo on FW 16.0.0 with atmosphere 1.5.2 and V0.6.5 (The one from GH Issue page) is not working for me, it says "emuiibo doesnt seem to be present" on the overlay menu. Also using the latest ovlmenu.ovl file from GH. Any ideas why? Most people i see using 0.6.5 seem to be fine.

Found out why, just needed to make a miis folder inside the emuiibo folder.
 
  • Love
Reactions: impeeza

NewGuy92

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 26, 2023
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
26
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Did a clean update for the new atmosphere and firmware and now whenever i open any overlay it crashes the console. No idea what i did wrong, updated it the same way i do every time. Anyone got any idea where the problem is?
20230426_122655.jpg
 

BaamAlex

UDE GA NARU ZE!
Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
6,086
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Lampukistan
Website
hmpg.net
XP
6,220
Country
Germany
Did a clean update for the new atmosphere and firmware and now whenever i open any overlay it crashes the console. No idea what i did wrong, updated it the same way i do every time. Anyone got any idea where the problem is?View attachment 367173
Your nx ovlloader is outdated.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: Click on your profile pic in the top right corner, and you'll get the profile menu popup, with... +2