ROM Hack [Tutorial] Edit the HomeMenu

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,808
Trophies
3
Age
23
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
10,635
Country
Hungary
Sorry, sorry. I didn't know. Well gbatemp was fun while it lasted. :cry:
Don't worry, you won't get banned after one error just like that.
well thank you. I would delete my message, but I don't exactly know how to do that
Report your own message and ask for deletion.
 

Cralex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
206
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,296
Country
United States
IT WORKED! The order in which error messages appear isn't consistent on my systems but eventually I got it to work after trying several variations of your method. Thanks again. :)
View attachment 96152

That’s awesome! I don’t have a dev unit, but I might make mine say something similar just in case. I had a 3DS stolen from me once before... Something like this would make it worthless to pawn off.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Asdolo

bungboi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2017
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
349
Country
United States
Just some advice for people having trouble with it only extracting SystemApp and nothing else:
Right click Part1.bat and edit it. You should see SystemApp.0000.00000082. Change 82 to 83 and then run the batch file.
If that still doesn't work, try changing the number to 80, 81, 84, etc.
You also need to do the same for Part2.bat
Just something I thought to say because I was having trouble with it for a few seconds.
 
Last edited by bungboi,

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,433
Country
United States
Just some advice for people having trouble with it only extracting SystemApp and nothing else:
Right click Part1.bat and edit it. You should see SystemApp.0000.00000082. Change 82 to 83 and then run the batch file.
You also need to do the same for Part2.bat
Just something I thought to say because I was having trouble with it for a few seconds.
It may be something else for others though. Just attempt part1.bat, wait for it to error, look for the SystemApp.000.0000008x in the directory, then change the bat files to match that file
 

bungboi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2017
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
349
Country
United States
Speaking of "having trouble", I just bricked my 3DS. I accidentally installed the edited home menu twice. Thankfully, I had my NAND backup ready so I got back in.
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,433
Country
United States
Speaking of "having trouble", I just bricked my 3DS. I accidentally installed the edited home menu twice. Thankfully, I had my NAND backup ready so I got back in.
Just think there was a time when we didn't have brick protection on sysNAND and people would accidentally (or just stupidly) do it on sysNAND and brick their sysNAND.
 

bungboi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2017
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
349
Country
United States
Just think there was a time when we didn't have brick protection on sysNAND and people would accidentally (or just stupidly) do it on sysNAND and brick their sysNAND.
I wasn't around in those times lol. I hacked my 3DS, accidentally updated and got rid of my homebrew, and just left it alone until I found out about seedminer recently.
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,433
Country
United States
Currently tested and working on my end, but your mileage may vary.
Decided to fix up the batch files in OP to prevent the unecessary editing of the batch file
But I've made changes to the Part1.bat to search for the correct file to use rather than just assuming which one it is, and then handing that off to part2.bat as well.
Should fix any problems with those files.
Also did some commenting on everything I've done inside it.
https://mega.nz/#!1R9mkCCS!Rl1_VQ7dpQ-y9Uu2bLeq9Vw9u8GsgLZ8w_Q8ZtWoTXo

Also Posting the source here in case someone thinks it's dubious:
Part1.bat
Code:
@echo off

echo Unpacking contents...

::Do first unpacking for the problem file
ctrtool.exe --content=SystemApp HomeMenu.cia

::Search for SystemApp to get the right version
for /r %%a in (SystemApp.0000.000000*) do set SystemApp=%%~nxa

::Push SystemApp to text file
echo %SystemApp%> SystemApp.txt

::Continue to unpack
3dstool.exe -xvtf cxi %SystemApp% --header NCCH.Header --exh DecryptedExHeader.bin --exefs DecryptedExeFS.bin --romfs DecryptedRomFS.bin --logo Logo.bcma.LZ --plain PlainRGN.bin
3dstool.exe -xvtf exefs DecryptedExeFS.bin --exefs-dir ExtractedExeFS --header ExeFS.Header
3dstool.exe -xvtf romfs DecryptedRomFS.bin --romfs-dir ExtractedRomFS
Pause

Part2.bat
Code:
@echo off

echo Repacking files...

::Find SystemApp file
for /r %%a in (SystemApp.0000.000000*) do set SystemApp=%%~nxa

::Ensure variable 'SystemApp' is set, if not error and quit
If SystemApp == "" (
cls
echo Error: SystemApp not found! Did you run Part1 First?
pause
exit
)

::Continue to repack
3dstool.exe -cvtf romfs CustomRomFS.bin --romfs-dir ExtractedRomFS
3dstool.exe -cvtf exefs CustomExeFS.bin --exefs-dir ExtractedExeFS --header ExeFS.Header
3dstool.exe -cvtf cxi %SystemApp% --header NCCH.Header --exh DecryptedExHeader.bin --exefs CustomExeFS.bin --romfs CustomRomFS.bin --logo Logo.bcma.LZ --plain PlainRGN.bin
MakeRom.exe -f cia -content %SystemApp%:0:0x00 -o HomeMenu_Edited.cia

::Delete SystemApp.txt
del SystemApp.txt
pause

If you encounter any errors let me know!

May want to add this to OP @Asia81

Edit: Fixed up a few things, namely comments that mentioned previously-used test variables instead of what the actual variables were.
 
Last edited by TheCyberQuake,

bungboi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2017
Messages
100
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
349
Country
United States
One more thing, has anyone else noticed that the eShop is prompting an update after doing this? Is it trying to restore my home menu?
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,433
Country
United States
One more thing, has anyone else noticed that the eShop is prompting an update after doing this? Is it trying to restore my home menu?
If you follow directions in OP at this point, you end up downloading an old version of home menu because I don't believe OP has the most recent versions.
I would use godmode9 to dump the title .app to cia straight from your 3ds.
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,433
Country
United States
Updated the batch files a bit more to fix a few more problems, and to now support drag and drop with any CIA file name onto Part1.bin
Just running Part1 normally will use the HomeMenu.cia as done before.
https://mega.nz/#!1R9mkCCS!Rl1_VQ7dpQ-y9Uu2bLeq9Vw9u8GsgLZ8w_Q8ZtWoTXo

Part1.bat
Code:
@echo off

::Drag and Drop support
set dragfile="%~1"
for %%i in (%dragfile%) do set CIA=%%~nxi
if "%CIA%" == "" set CIA=HomeMenu.cia

echo Unpacking contents...

::Do first unpacking for the SystemApp file
ctrtool.exe --content=SystemApp "%CIA%"

::Search for SystemApp to get the right version
for /r %%a in (SystemApp.*) do set SystemApp=%%~nxa

::Continue to unpack
3dstool.exe -xvtf cxi %SystemApp% --header NCCH.Header --exh DecryptedExHeader.bin --exefs DecryptedExeFS.bin --romfs DecryptedRomFS.bin --logo Logo.bcma.LZ --plain PlainRGN.bin
3dstool.exe -xvtf exefs DecryptedExeFS.bin --exefs-dir ExtractedExeFS --header ExeFS.Header
3dstool.exe -xvtf romfs DecryptedRomFS.bin --romfs-dir ExtractedRomFS
Pause

Part2.bat
Code:
@echo off

echo Repacking files...

::Find SystemApp file
for /r %%a in (SystemApp.*) do set SystemApp=%%~nxa

::Ensure variable 'SystemApp' is set, if not error and quit
If "%SystemApp%" == "" (
cls
echo Error: SystemApp not found! Did you run Part1 First?
pause
exit
)

::Continue to repack
3dstool.exe -cvtf romfs CustomRomFS.bin --romfs-dir ExtractedRomFS
3dstool.exe -cvtf exefs CustomExeFS.bin --exefs-dir ExtractedExeFS --header ExeFS.Header
3dstool.exe -cvtf cxi %SystemApp% --header NCCH.Header --exh DecryptedExHeader.bin --exefs CustomExeFS.bin --romfs CustomRomFS.bin --logo Logo.bcma.LZ --plain PlainRGN.bin
MakeRom.exe -f cia -content %SystemApp%:0:0x00 -o HomeMenu_Edited.cia

::Delete SystemApp.txt
del SystemApp.txt
pause
 
Last edited by TheCyberQuake,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: Caller -"Everytime I start a Pc game on my S24, playing on a external monitor, someone calls or...