Homebrew Virtual Boy Emulator Being Prepped for a Port to Wii ?

djdynamite123

Master Of Hardcore!
OP
Banned
Trophies
Website
www.djdynamite.bravehost.com
XP
Country
A new Beta version of the VirtualBoy emulator RealityBoy was released.
Wow, another long stretch! DogP made a very nice contribution to the emulator and I had been doodling around with it for the past several months so I decided it was time to release a new version. DogP added sound support (win32 only) and added link port emulation using tcp/ip. He also fixed some major bugs in Affine mode and in the opcodes. Now all commercial roms run and all but the direct draw games are fully playable. I have been cleaning up the code in preparation of porting it to both SDL and the XBox. This should open things up to being ported to more interesting platforms like the Nintendo Wii. You can grab reality boy 0.84 for windows here and the source code here. I decided to stop distributing the compiled versions of both linux and dos, you can

Source/Download
Virtual-Boy.jpg

True failure this system, 19 games released, Nintendo weren't mean to release it, but they did, N64 was their focus, and virtual boy was scrapped...

Some Nice 3D Gaming with GLASSES one of these days!

berlinka

You have sustained a lethal injury.
Trophies
Website
www.berlinka.blogspot.com
XP
Country
Netherlands
I think this is impossible. Virtual Boy was more like a Viewmaster, but with moving images. So it's like binocular vision where each eye has their own viewing lens. How could you make that work on the Wii with only one telly? 3D view with 3D-glasses is a complete different approach.
So I'm curious what this emulator will turn out to be.

djdynamite123

Master Of Hardcore!
OP
Banned
Trophies
Website
www.djdynamite.bravehost.com
XP
Country
QUOTE said: