Homebrew Official Citra - New 3DS Emulator

piratesephiroth

I wish I could read
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
3,453
Trophies
2
Age
103
XP
3,234
Country
Brazil
is Citra (and 3Dmoo, even if not the correct thread) only for 64bit compatible computers?
I'm on Win XP x86, and the x86 build on emucr still gives me error "not a valid 32bit application".
It's maybe an issue of emuCR's build? maybe they compile both versions on a 64bit OS. I didn't find a faq or active forum on their website.

I didn't try to compile it myself yet, I never used visual studio.


Edit:
I want the emulator to test my homebrew, I understand that you don't like auto or random build provided to end user, but don't worry I won't cry if last released game is not working as it's not what I will use it for.
So if someone has a built for XP 32bit, I would gladly accept it.
Thank you.

I tried to compile Citra but it's such a trainwreck (it needs cmake, qt, zlib, png, boost and I don't know how many animal sacrifices) so I just gave up.
Here's a compiled 3Dmoo, though.
 

Attachments

  • 3dmoo-x86-git-fc5fe857798e0b3f624962202977fd4ff2ad8d83.rar
    162.4 KB · Views: 534
  • Like
Reactions: Cyan

Hydr8gon

Dragon Trainer
Developer
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
316
Trophies
1
Website
hydr8gon.github.io
XP
2,580
Country
Canada
I'm currently trying to build Citra on OSX. I'm following the steps that don't use the homebrew thing:
Code:
it clone https://github.com/glfw/glfw.git cd glfw mkdir build && cd build cmake .. make sudo make install

When I do the line "cmake .." it's not doing anything. IT's saying that the cmake command isn't found. Anyone have any idea why?

Did you install cmake and other dependencies using homebrew?
 

neobrain

-
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
306
Trophies
0
XP
730
Country
Putting out my opinion that I think this is a bad idea. Money just makes things worse in the long run.
Any particular concerns you are having here?

Fwiw, I don't think we'll be having the donation tracker open indefinitely - especially since there are only few items on the list which actually need money in the long run. Eventually the project should be self-sustainable via website ads anyway. That's how Dolphin has been doing things for the past year and so far there haven't really been any problems with that.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,749
Trophies
4
Age
46
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,662
Country
France
thank you for trying to build it for me.
I tested your 3DMoo build but it still doesn't work. I have SDL2.dll in the same folder but it seems not enough. I get : Entry point "inet_ntop" not found in WS2_32.dll
I probably require updating to SP3, or using SP3 dll in 3DMoo folder, but I won't download it from a random dll website.

Thanks for your help :)
I'll use my console and hbmenu instead of Emu.
 
  • Like
Reactions: filfat

neobrain

-
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
306
Trophies
0
XP
730
Country
thank you for trying to build it for me.
I tested your 3DMoo build but it still doesn't work. I have SDL2.dll in the same folder but it seems not enough. I get : Entry point "inet_ntop" not found in WS2_32.dll
I probably require updating to SP3, or using SP3 dll in 3DMoo folder, but I won't download it from a random dll website.

Thanks for your help :)
I'll use my console and hbmenu instead of Emu.
To be honest, at this stage it might be easier to setup a virtual machine with Linux (or any more recent MS Windows release) than trying to get someone to get MSVC to build a 32-bit XP compatible binary. Even if I weren't using a linux environment without access to a Windows compiler, I'd have virtually no idea on how to make sure my stuff works on XP.
 

bunnei

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
606
Country
United States
I tried to compile Citra but it's such a trainwreck (it needs cmake, qt, zlib, png, boost and I don't know how many animal sacrifices) so I just gave up.
Here's a compiled 3Dmoo, though.

It only needs cmake, Visual Studio and Git to build the commandline version on Windows. You'll additionally need Qt if you want the debugger/GUI. This is documented here: https://github.com/citra-emu/citra/wiki/Windows-Build. The other things you listed are all included in your checkout.
 

neobrain

-
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
306
Trophies
0
XP
730
Country
I tried to compile Citra but it's such a trainwreck (it needs cmake, qt, zlib, png, boost and I don't know how many animal sacrifices) so I just gave up.
Here's a compiled 3Dmoo, though.
Other than CMake, none of these are actual dependencies that you need to provide manually (cf. the externals/ directory). Qt is obviously required for the GUI, but there's a CLI version as well, which you can build without Qt.

EDIT: Meh, ninja'd :P
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,749
Trophies
4
Age
46
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,662
Country
France
yeah, I guess XP is starting to get old. Until now everything worked fine and I never encountered programs I couldn't launch.
Virtual machine is a good idea until I change my computer.
 

RichardLaughter_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Messages
149
Trophies
0
XP
239
I think it's a great idea as long as those who are willing to donate understand that this isn't like an indie release on steam. They aren't programming a game, they are making an emulator. The big difference is that While a game can be designed to work 100% and even in a timely matter, emulators can't be, but by giving them a few dollars here and there, it can cut out some of the bottlenecks in the early development cycle and at least help them get to the point of understanding the system to a degree that makes it so they no longer need to buy new hardware.
 

piratesephiroth

I wish I could read
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
3,453
Trophies
2
Age
103
XP
3,234
Country
Brazil
thank you for trying to build it for me.
I tested your 3DMoo build but it still doesn't work. I have SDL2.dll in the same folder but it seems not enough. I get : Entry point "inet_ntop" not found in WS2_32.dll
I probably require updating to SP3, or using SP3 dll in 3DMoo folder, but I won't download it from a random dll website.

Thanks for your help :)
I'll use my console and hbmenu instead of Emu.
Yeah it probably requires SP3. Why are you on SP2?
 

extrun20

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
66
Country
United States
I tried to compile citra-pica_progress branch used Visual Studio 2013 Express (Windows Desktop).
put nihstro and boost to externals folder.
but I compile false, and I got a lot of errors related to BitField.
IntelliSense error: invalid union members clubs BitField< 0, 5, Semantic>
Thanks for your help.
 

neobrain

-
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2014
Messages
306
Trophies
0
XP
730
Country
I tried to compile citra-pica_progress branch used Visual Studio 2013 Express (Windows Desktop).
put nihstro and boost to externals folder.
but I compile false, and I got a lot of errors related to BitField.
IntelliSense error: invalid union members clubs BitField< 0, 5, Semantic>
Thanks for your help.
1. You don't need to put nihstro and boost manually there.. just use the git submodule command instead.
2. The branch is not completely ready, yet. You can find a comment by bunnei in the pull request which has the required fixes for VS2013, though.
 

extrun20

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 18, 2014
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
66
Country
United States
1. You don't need to put nihstro and boost manually there.. just use the git submodule command instead.
2. The branch is not completely ready, yet. You can find a comment by bunnei in the pull request which has the required fixes for VS2013, though.
Okay. I was successful compile. Thanks for the advice.
 

Agent Moose

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
407
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
552
Country
United States
Did you install cmake and other dependencies using homebrew?
I'm trying to do it without the homebrew. I'm starting at the "Building GLFW from source:".

I just installed CMake (went to the website and installed it like any other .dmg file) and when I went to do "cmake .." in the terminal, it still said that it wasn't a command.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    Usually when such a big title leaks the Temp will be the first to report about it (going off of historical reports here, Pokemon SV being the latest one I can recall seeing pop up here)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I still like how a freaking mp3 file hacks webos all that security defeated by text yet again
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    They have simulators for everything nowdays, cray cray. How about a sim that shows you playing the Switch.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's called yuzu
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I want a 120hz 4k tv but crazy how more expensive the 120hz over the 60hz are. Or even more crazy is the price of 8k's.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No real point since movies are 30fps
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Not a big movie buff, more of a gamer tbh. And Series X is 120hz 8k ready, but yea only 120hz 4k games out right now, but thinking of in the future.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Mostly why you never see TV manufacturers going post 60hz
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I only watch tv when i goto bed, it puts me to sleep, and I have a nas drive filled w my fav shows so i can watch them in order, commercial free. I usually watch Married w Children, or South Park
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Stremio ruined my need for nas
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I stream from Nas to firestick, one on every tv, and use Kodi. I'm happy w it, plays everything. (I pirate/torrent shows/movies on pc, and put on nas)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kodi repost are still pretty popular
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What the hell is Kodi reposts? what do you mean, or "Wut?" -xdqwerty
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Google them basically web crawlers to movie sites
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    oh you mean the 3rd party apps on Kodi, yea i know what you mean, yea there are still a few cool ones, in fact watched the new planet of the apes movie other night w wifey thru one, was good pic surprisingly, not a cam
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Damn, only $2.06 and free shipping. Gotta cost more for them to ship than $2.06
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I got my Dad a firestick for Xmas and showed him those 3rd party sites on Kodi, he loves it, all he watches anymore. He said he has got 3 letters from AT&T already about pirating, but he says f them, let them shut my internet off (He wants out of his AT&T contract anyways)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's where stremio comes to play never got a letter about it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I just use a VPN, even give him my login and password so can use it also, and he refuses, he's funny.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I had to find and get him an old style flip phone even without text, cause thats what he wanted. No text, no internet, only phone calls. Old, old school.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    @BigOnYa, Lol I bought a new USB card reader thing on AliExpress last month for I think like 87 cents. Free shipping from China... It arrived it works and honestly I don't understand how it was so cheap.
    +1
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: @BigOnYa, Lol I bought a new USB card reader thing on AliExpress last month for I think like 87... +1