Hacking Final Fantasy Type-0 RomHacking

SkyBladeCloud

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Well, well, what can I say about this game? Being a very good title released at the end on the life of its platform made it impossible for the development team to release it outside Japan.

So many "operations", "movements", and "projects"; and after more than a year, the situation is exactly the same. Even so, I still don't see the interest of a fan translation of this game, which surprises me a lot.

Having worked myself on a lot of Spanish fan translations for the PSP (and many other platforms) for many Square Enix games, I had a look at Final Fantasy Type-0. As I said, due to the lack of interest there is no translation available, and as I don't speak Japanese, there is no much more I can do.

Still, I opened this thread to show how the game works internally: as a programmer, I reverse-engineered most of the game engine, making a perfect fan translation *almost possible* (of course, it will never be possible without Japanese translators xD).

-About the game's file system:

Right after opening the ISO, we can clearly see that all the game's data is stored in 2 files:

*yellow.pkg -> The data package, which contains all the game files together
*yellow.fsd -> The file system descriptor, which contains information on how the files are stored in the pkg.

Thew file system descriptor is basically a data base, having:

[Number of stored files in the pkg]
-Then, for each stored file:
[Sector of the pkg where the file start (file offset = sector * 0x800)]
[Implied file sized]

That is en to unpack the data pack. After that, we will find all the game resources including images, audio, video, text, and system data.

-About audio:

We can find 2 types of audio files:
*AT3(+) sound files -> very well known audio format in PSP. Not much to say here.