EmperorOfCanada

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Canada
The age old question. Do I go for love or go for money?

I have been working for a company for just over 3 years now. I love my job. I am in a sales field and at only 3 years I am one of the senior staff in a chain of stores that has maybe 12-15 locations or so in western Canada.. So, not exactly a mom and pop company but not a huge company either. I love my job because it is easy, it is stress free, and since about March of this year I have been paid to either sit at home while waiting for renovations to complete, or sitting IN my store (which still wasnt ready to open) and play DS, watch movies, and of course spend all day reading the consumerist and gbatemp posts.

With such an easy workload and such little responsibilities, this is a lazy guys dream. However as I am in sales, and I work in a slow location to begin with and now with no customers at all (due to constant renovations) my pay has really really suffered. Almost half my wage is commissions so even though I am making enough to live on, its just barely enough, and I dont have enough to save much extra to get the house I want with my girlfriend.

On the flip side, change is hard. I could apply at a similar job but I would be working a lot harder, having a lot more stress and a lot less fun in my days, and lose whatever seniority I have in my company. I know it doesnt mean a whole lot at the moment but I can be such a chickenshit sometimes and I worry I will be giving up a job I love for a job I potentially could hate, and might not be able to apply here again if things dont work out.

What to do what to do?

Usually I am one of those people who say dont be a pussy, no risk no reward etc etc. But damn Im just not sure I can move on, or that I even want to.

What would you all do?

Cyberxion

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States