Having trouble starting phat Xbox One

ThaKarra

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
Hi all,

Today I was given an old phat Xbox One console. But I cant seem to get it booting into OS. I've never used an Xbox One before (I'm a Sony guy) so I'm not fully clued up about how the Xbox One operates.

So when I first hooked it up, it took about 30 seconds to display anything on my TV. I could hear a clicking from the hard drive(?) and finally I was presented with:
"Something Went Wrong - System Error: E102 10070C02 8B060008"

So I went into the troubleshoot option and tried to both restart and reset it. No change. Sill the same error. So then I tried doing an offline system update. I went onto the Xbox website, downloaded the relevant files and copied them to my NTFS USB thumb drive.

It didn't even attempt to update, it INSTANTLY flashed to the following:
"Something went wrong - System Error: E101 00000503 800703ED"

Different error to the first one.

So fair enough, the drive was making a clicking noise.. I assumed its dead and needs replacing. I take the Xbox apart, remove the HDD and plug it into a USB caddy. Sure enough my PC wasn't detecting the drive in disk manager. So I guess that confirms, dead drive(?).

I went online and found a tutorial on how to setup a new Xbox One drive (This tutorial here). - I followed the tutorial using a known GOOD 500GB drive, downloaded all the relevant files and formatted it correctly. - I hooked it back up and I'm getting exactly the same issue on screen (minus the clicking noise which is now gone). --

NOTE: One thing that is different now though, is that when I first turn the console on, it says "Preparing Console" for about a minute before throwing the error.

I've tried searching up the error codes but honestly I'm not having much luck. The fact it's not even attempting the offline update is a bit concerning.

Extra Information:
OS Version: 16299.4055.amd64fre.rs3_release_xbox_dev_1711.171203-1700