ROM Hack {HELP} Layeredfs .wem SoR4 music replacement.

Thorhax

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
First off, I'm new to making LayeredFS mods, but not new to using them.

I took an mp3 from Streets of rage remake, I used "sound editor 2018" to convert it to .wem, I put it into the correct folder in atmosphere. It was supposed to replace the intro music, but when I start up the game there is no music for the intro. I converted the .wem file back to .wav so I could test that I actually converted it correctly, the .wav plays fine in windows.

Unsure why this didn't work. Could it possibly have to do with the .wem encoding or bitrate not matching what was used in the SoR4 default music?

masagrator

The patches guy
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
Poland
More like .wem header issue
Wwise has many different iterations and they are tweaking some things to header and end of file. On your place I would try to extract from SR4 wav sound, convert it to .wem with your tool and compare differences between files to make adjustments with Hex Editor

Reactions: Thorhax

Thorhax

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
More like .wem header issue
Wwise has many different iterations and they are tweaking some things to header and end of file. On your place I would try to extract from SR4 wav sound, convert it to .wem with your tool and compare differences between files to make adjustments with Hex Editor

Thanks for the advice. I'll give it a try.
but, what do you mean by make adjustments with a hex editor? I only used a hex editor a couple times in my life, but in this case I'm unsure what would need to be changed.

masagrator

The patches guy
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
Poland
Thanks for the advice. I'll give it a try.
but, what do you mean by make adjustments with a hex editor? I only used a hex editor a couple times in my life, but in this case I'm unsure what would need to be changed.