Homebrew Homebrew app Homebrew app just opens and closes

wilburie

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 11, 2023
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
62
Country
United States
So I homebrewed my new 2DS XL (via Luma3DS) and it worked perfectly. I have some homebrew apps already installed, and i tried to make my own.

I have the program up and running, the title and icon both work, but it just gives me a black screen for about 4 seconds, and then returns to the HB launcher.
Here's my code:

1683835122310.png


And the two built SMDH and 3DSX files are in a folder called "TestAppHB", like this:

1683835195910.png


As I said, it loads up and shows as an app on the HB menu fine, but when I run it, it doesn't work.
 

fluffycat420

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 7, 2023
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
425
Country
Canada
i think you need opeing curly brackets from the beginning of the if kdown statement like this

if (kDown & KEY_START);
{
break; //Break in order to return to hbmenu
}

you might not need a semi colon at the end of your if statement too btw
 

wilburie

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 11, 2023
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
62
Country
United States
i think you need opeing curly brackets from the beginning of the if kdown statement like this

if (kDown & KEY_START);
{
break; //Break in order to return to hbmenu
}

you might not need a semi colon at the end of your if statement too btw
Hey, it works now! Thanks! :)
 

wilburie

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 11, 2023
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
62
Country
United States
So, I said that it worked because it didn't give me any warnings during the build... But this happens.

IMG_20230515_133351546[1].jpg


Anyway i can make it print "Hello, world!" one time and then wait until they return to the HBM? (press the start button)
 

fluffycat420

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 7, 2023
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
425
Country
Canada
So, I said that it worked because it didn't give me any warnings during the build... But this happens.

View attachment 371545

Anyway i can make it print "Hello, world!" one time and then wait until they return to the HBM? (press the start button)
place it outside of aptmainloop, like this

while (aptMainLoop())
{
//stuff goes here
}

//now here put your printf statement
 

wilburie

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 11, 2023
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
62
Country
United States
place it outside of aptmainloop, like this

while (aptMainLoop())
{
//stuff goes here
}

//now here put your printf statement

Well, that didn't work. But I did some experimenting of my own, and instead of placing it AFTER the loop I placed it BEFORE. Works perfectly now! Thanks for the help!

Also, In case you know...

How can i print custom images to the top and bottom screen?
 

fluffycat420

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 7, 2023
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
425
Country
Canada
Well, that didn't work. But I did some experimenting of my own, and instead of placing it AFTER the loop I placed it BEFORE. Works perfectly now! Thanks for the help!

Also, In case you know...

How can i print custom images to the top and bottom screen?
citro2d, don't know how to but i've heard it's pretty simple.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • NO111ONE @ NO111ONE:
    @Xdqwerty crashd was the exploit for LG TVs to root practically any.
    I got word of it this january and rooted my TV. Was pretty impressed.
    Since then LG patched the command to root and then the developer mode app itself from making vulnerabilities.

    And then I found out that having a rooted TV lets you use PPPwn to jailbreak a PS4 on firmware 11. Finally uses for my rooted LG (I hate the playstation as such the use is gone)
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @NO111ONE, Did you have a arch64 base?
  • NO111ONE @ NO111ONE:
    Honestly didn't care to even poke. The board is W18H
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I got a 2023 Model turned off update in the homebrew channel maybe if I restore it and run the script again but it might auto update during the process
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    play it safe, keep it off
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Script keeps getting stuck at Heap grooming now
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    nowadays i just keep my jailbroken ps4 for some exclusives i don't play on pc
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The youtube adblocker looks nice in the homebrew channel but I pay for premium for like $4 a month under vpn lol
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i dont even YT much, Net flix is just another bother
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    YT music apps pointless tbh
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    playing old music mostly while browsing/going through comics at archive.org
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    me doin' simple stuff
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Don't always need a bunch of electronics to enjoy electronics
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Issue is we want new and best then it piles up
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i'm all gud if my browser don't lag
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I fixed a 2010 netbook for someone and they were happy
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i did something similar to for a friend, was a old acer netbook, he was over the moon, guess guys are just that simple
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Still had xp all the works at least got 7 on it
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    even if MS says newer windows works fine on 1 Gb of ram, I'd still go for the default or similar OS
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It loaded youtube with like a 5 minute lag lol
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's a old potato, can't expect much
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I told her it's not a good porn book
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's fine if it work and can watch their fav porn
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    For images maybe
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's not a vibrator la, ...that lags
    ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21: it's not a vibrator la, ...that lags