Hacking Hardware Missing cap on Switch OLED

redmagejosh

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Panama
So I got a Splatoon edition OLED I was installing a HWFLY chip. This is my first time working on an OLED and I had an issue during the process due to a failing soldering iron in which I bridged the two caps for the 3.3v.
After cleaning that up and getting everything straight I noticed that there seems to be missing a cap(this is based of other pics I've seen online). I put the switch back together and turned it on and it worked. Did do much testing. Does anyone know what value that cap is or if there is a model of the switch OLED that doesn't have this cap and maybe I'm overreacting?

I've attached a pic highlighting what I think is a missing cap.

Edit: I have a board from a damaged Switch V1 laying around, could I maybe steal a cap from that to fix this board?
Post automatically merged:

Solved. Took a similar looking cap from the v1 and it seems to be working right now.

Attachments

• WIN_20230603_01_14_23_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20230603_01_14_23_Pro.jpg
    628.2 KB · Views: 50
Last edited by redmagejosh,
Reactions: AhsanMC

AhsanMC

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I got a Splatoon edition OLED I was installing a HWFLY chip. This is my first time working on an OLED and I had an issue during the process due to a failing soldering iron in which I bridged the two caps for the 3.3v.
After cleaning that up and getting everything straight I noticed that there seems to be missing a cap(this is based of other pics I've seen online). I put the switch back together and turned it on and it worked. Did do much testing. Does anyone know what value that cap is or if there is a model of the switch OLED that doesn't have this cap and maybe I'm overreacting?

I've attached a pic highlighting what I think is a missing cap.

Edit: I have a board from a damaged Switch V1 laying around, could I maybe steal a cap from that to fix this board?
Post automatically merged: