OP
Newcomer
Trophies
Website
www.nintendofuse.com
XP
Country
United States
I am very interested in creating a new Wii Homebrew Application in the form of an interactive Rosary. However I am completely new to Wii Homebrew programming. I am a professional Visual Basic.NET developer but I know next to nothing about C or C++. I am currently looking at C++ tutorials for Windows development and have had some success with Console Applications but I haven't made it to Windows GUI yet. I am completely willing to put in the time to educate myself so please do not suggest that as I am already starting down that path.

Every tutorial I have found on developing a Wii Homebrew application have all been difficult for me to follow or I can never get the examples to compile. I am using the latest DevKitPro and libogc ( I just downloaded the latest version today May 26, 2010), but I am finding it to be very difficult. Also I know of no way to test any homebrew on my pc so anything I try to develop I can only test when I get home in the evening (which being married and having a 2 year old is not very easy). The computer I am using to develop on is my work laptop it is running Windows 7 64 bit, not sure if that matters.

What I would like to do is create an interactive Rosary because I know there is nothing out there like that now in the Wii Homebrew scene. Here is what I hope to achieve:

Picture of a rosary as the main image. Each bead is interactive in that when the user points at a bead certain information or prayers will be displayed
Allow user to choose which mystery they want to meditate on (depending on which mystery they choose the Rosary beads will reflect that information/prayers)
Have music playing in the background (can be turned off or on)
Wiimote integration
Assigning options or choices to button presses (or just adding a new menu when the home button is pressed)