Homebrew [QUESTION] Python Homebrew Development Library

bennyman123abc

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello all! I have a very simple and short question. I was wondering if a Python library for 3DS homebrew development existed currently. I do not have development experience in C++ and very little in C however, Python is the language I've been working with for a couple years now and would feel more comfortable developing homebrew in Python if possible. Thank you for reading and as always, happy hacking!

D

Deleted User

Yeah, but IIRC that doesn't have wrappers for 3DS System Calls.

A lesser-known but excellent Python library is 3DS_Monty by ObsidianX. It's a port of MicroPython, has wrappers for 3DS System Calls (done in ctrulib), and you could probably make a basic game with it. It's in MicroPython, though, so there are a few differences between that and normal ol' Python (mainly pertaining to multiple inheritance, given from what I've read).

bennyman123abc

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Yeah, but IIRC that doesn't have wrappers for 3DS System Calls.

A lesser-known but excellent Python library is 3DS_Monty by ObsidianX. It's a port of MicroPython, has wrappers for 3DS System Calls (done in ctrulib), and you could probably make a basic game with it. It's in MicroPython, though, so there are a few differences between that and normal ol' Python (mainly pertaining to multiple inheritance, given from what I've read).
Thank you for this. I will take a look into it right now!

Reactions: Deleted User
D

Deleted User

Thank you for this. I will take a look into it right now!
Yep.

One note about sound support; it has NDSP wrappers that allow you to play WAV files, however, it doesn't stream them, so either make your WAV files as small as possible or implement streaming yourself.

Also, IIRC, threading isn't implemented, so you can't use that.