Homebrew Retroarch 1.2 is coming...

Arm73

Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
At this point I feel it is hopelessly.
I've been playing around with RA Wii for a couple of years now, testing several nightly builds every once in a while, and the experience is always frustrating.

First of all, I ONLY need RA to run FBA, CPS1/2 and (compatible) Neo Geo games on my Wii at 240p on a CRT TV.
True scanlines at 240p is the single,most useful advantage I get from running things on the Wii instead of my PC which is sitting next to the TV anyway.
I couldn't care any less about other cores. There are plenty of much better options out there with better gui and rock steady stability for SNES, NES, Sega etc....
Also the few N64 games I'm interested in, I can play them trough VC or injected wads.
For GBA games I have a GBA, a DS Lite and a Gamecube player, with 99.9% compatibility and perfect performance, so why bother (in my case).
PSX will never be remotely acceptable on the Wii so why bother either.

THE GOOD
Once you manage to launch an arcade/neo geo game, it's the closest thing ever to the original arcade experience.
I get 240p mode on my CRT TV ( the Wii is hooked with a SCART RGB cable ) and I can play it with my X-Arcade joystick via a GC adaptor.
That's the biggest reason I've hoped for so long that development would come to acceptable levels, but....

THE BAD
Like I said, I've been testing it for a couple of years and I get nothing but anger.
I don't mind the simplicity of the UI on the Wii, it goes straight to the point and leaves most of the available memory to actually run the games.
HOWEVER, it is and it's always been broken, and I wonder why, since given time ( and they had plenty of ) should be relatively easy to program such a minimal, text only UI.
Once a game runs, it's beautiful, sure. But changing the resolution it's a mess, sometimes it works, sometimes it just corrupts the screen.