ROM Hack What Are My Options For Backing Up 3DS Content (New 3DS XL)

• Thread starter Deleted User
  • Start date
  • Views 3,168
  • Replies 5
D

Deleted User

OP
Hello,
I've been buying a few virtual console games on the 3DS eShop over the years and have a collection I'm fond of now. However, I want to ensure that my downloads can be backed up (including VC games, themes, and maybe badges). I would just download ROMs of my games but I'd prefer to have them playable on my 3DS since it's one of my favorite systems for classic games (and so I can have authentic copies). My brother's 3DS had to get replaced and I thought that putting the sd card into his new system would fix it, but it didn't. So, I'm hoping to have a backup of my 3DS content on my PC that I can plop into a new sd card or system if something goes wrong. How would I go about doing this?

I am open to modding, however I'm very new to 3DS modding (actually, haven't successfully modded it before). I would prefer a means of doing this without modding my system (like a program or something that decrypts the files), but I wouldn't mind learning for this purpose.

Thanks to all who stop by and help!

Ryab

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello,
I've been buying a few virtual console games on the 3DS eShop over the years and have a collection I'm fond of now. However, I want to ensure that my downloads can be backed up (including VC games, themes, and maybe badges). I would just download ROMs of my games but I'd prefer to have them playable on my 3DS since it's one of my favorite systems for classic games (and so I can have authentic copies). My brother's 3DS had to get replaced and I thought that putting the sd card into his new system would fix it, but it didn't. So, I'm hoping to have a backup of my 3DS content on my PC that I can plop into a new sd card or system if something goes wrong. How would I go about doing this?