Homebrew [WIP] ButtonSwap3DS - Remap buttons on your 3DS

AmberLoss

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
106
Country
Brazil
Here you go! Pressing L presses the right D-Pad, but tell me if you wanted it the other way around!
 

Attachments

  • MaplEnd.zip
    697.7 KB · Views: 151

Morning_Coffee

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 29, 2017
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
72
Country
United States
Sorry for the wait, my computer was acting up but now it fixed itself somehow! Seriously, I have no idea why it's working now.

@Morning_Coffee Suuuper sorry for the wait! A Y->Select means there's no button to press "Y" anymore, is that ok? I've made the build but if you want to have a Y<>Select just ask again, I promise it won't take so long this time!

@raspberrypie Congrats, you're the second person I know of who'll use ButtonSwap to disable a button! Please come back if anything goes wrong (but I doubt it will)

@Demnyx The problem with those two files is that their icons and banners are identical, so it'll be hard to tell them apart. But changing the icon etc is no problem at all for me, so if you want them changed, just give me the images (256x128 banners, 48x48 icons) and I can do it in less than a minute.


Thanks for the help! Really appreciate this, and no need to apologize, I didn't mind the wait c:
 

AmberLoss

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
106
Country
Brazil
@MarkPrime24 If you wanted the .cias, they're in the .zip!

If you actually want the codes, they go on injected.s under the part for buttons:
Code:
ldr r4, =0x200
ldr r5, =0x40
bl .button

ldr r4, =0x40
ldr r5, =0x200
bl .button
The first one makes the L button act as the UP key, and the second one makes the UP key act as the L button. The values come from ButtonSwap3DSHelper.jar, L is 0x200 and UP is 0x40.
 

Attachments

  • MarkPrime24.zip
    697.3 KB · Views: 126
Last edited by AmberLoss,

MarkPrime24

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 12, 2018
Messages
73
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
328
Country
United States
can anyone please give me codes for swapping l button with R...Thanks in advance
@MarkPrime24 If you wanted the .cias, they're in the .zip!

If you actually want the codes, they go on injected.s under the part for buttons:
Code:
ldr r4, =0x200
ldr r5, =0x40
bl .button

ldr r4, =0x40
ldr r5, =0x200
bl .button
The first one makes the L button act as the UP key, and the second one makes the UP key act as the L button. The values come from ButtonSwap3DSHelper.jar, L is 0x200 and UP is 0x40.

Thank You Very Much,just a little more help can you give codes for swapping L with R..
 

Demnyx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
92
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
330
Country
France
Hi i'm back for another request(Hope you're still there AmberLoss)
I want a file that does everything mentioned in my 1st request(page 14) and adds :
X becomes B+Cpad Down
Y becomes Cpad Up+A
Thanks
 

AmberLoss

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
106
Country
Brazil
@Demnyx, unfortunately I've run into a bug and there's no one left to fix it. Apparently if a key is used to emulate the C-Pad (like X > C-Down), it can't be used in any other combos (like L + X) without activating the C-Pad. So your "L + X > D-Up | X > B + C-Down" becomes "L + X > D-Up + B + C-Down | X > B + C-Down". I'm really sorry! I don't even have any idea why it's happening, it doesn't make sense that the B key is also being pressed at the same time.

If a future developer ever is interested in fixing this bug, here are a few more details:
The (snipped) code for this specific request is:
Code:
ldr r4, =0x600
ldr r5, =0x40
bl .button

ldr r4, =0x400
ldr r5, =0x2
bl .button

ldr r4, =0x400
ldr r6, =0x800001
bl .cpad
(the 1 was there to make sure the issue wasn't being caused by another mapping that was also pressing 0x800000)

As described above, this made it so pressing L + X would press D-Up, C-Down, and B at the same time.

To make sure the issue wasn't being caused by using the same keys in two different mappings (button and cpad), I tested the following code:
Code:
ldr r4, =0x600
ldr r5, =0x40
bl .button

ldr r4, =0x400
ldr r6, =0x800001
bl .cpad
Pressing L + X would press C-Down and D-Up, when it was only supposed to press D-Up.

The issue would be obvious if the only thing being carried over was the C-Pad mask, but the B button above was also carried over, so I have no idea what's wrong.

I would have tested it further, but honestly it's a pain and I have no idea if anyone is ever going to try to fix it anyway. I can do more tests by request.

@MikeAtom, I hope this is what you wanted: pressing R + B presses L, and pressing R + Select also presses L. If I got it wrong, just say the word and I'll remake it!
 

Attachments

  • MikeAtom.zip
    697.2 KB · Views: 137
  • Like
Reactions: Demnyx

Demnyx

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
92
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
330
Country
France
@Demnyx, unfortunately I've run into a bug and there's no one left to fix it. Apparently if a key is used to emulate the C-Pad (like X > C-Down), it can't be used in any other combos (like L + X) without activating the C-Pad. So your "L + X > D-Up | X > B + C-Down" becomes "L + X > D-Up + B + C-Down | X > B + C-Down". I'm really sorry! I don't even have any idea why it's happening, it doesn't make sense that the B key is also being pressed at the same time.

If a future developer ever is interested in fixing this bug, here are a few more details:
The (snipped) code for this specific request is:
Code:
ldr r4, =0x600
ldr r5, =0x40
bl .button

ldr r4, =0x400
ldr r5, =0x2
bl .button

ldr r4, =0x400
ldr r6, =0x800001
bl .cpad
(the 1 was there to make sure the issue wasn't being caused by another mapping that was also pressing 0x800000)

As described above, this made it so pressing L + X would press D-Up, C-Down, and B at the same time.

To make sure the issue wasn't being caused by using the same keys in two different mappings (button and cpad), I tested the following code:
Code:
ldr r4, =0x600
ldr r5, =0x40
bl .button

ldr r4, =0x400
ldr r6, =0x800001
bl .cpad
Pressing L + X would press C-Down and D-Up, when it was only supposed to press D-Up.

The issue would be obvious if the only thing being carried over was the C-Pad mask, but the B button above was also carried over, so I have no idea what's wrong.

I would have tested it further, but honestly it's a pain and I have no idea if anyone is ever going to try to fix it anyway. I can do more tests by request.

@MikeAtom, I hope this is what you wanted: pressing R + B presses L, and pressing R + Select also presses L. If I got it wrong, just say the word and I'll remake it!

Ah okay no problem
Then i would like it like this :
*Dpad becomes Cpad
*Y becomes Cpad Up + A
*X becomes B+Cpad Down
*L+A becomes Dpad left
I hope this one is ok
Thanks for your help :)
 

AmberLoss

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
106
Country
Brazil
@Demnyx No problem, here it is! It's the first time someone maps both a button and the C-Pad to the same trigger, so please tell me if you run into any issues!
 

Attachments

  • Demnyx-4th.zip
    697.4 KB · Views: 130

TsukiyoX

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
52
Trophies
0
XP
305
Country
United States
Does this work with VC or DS games?
No idea. If you could test it and tell me, that'd be a great help!

I'm not sure how many times this's been talked about, but I would like to use the Y button as the Select button (Y > Select) like in NES VC games. The reason is basically Metroid Zero Mission (GBA VC) to switch to Super Missiles and back.

Literally from the OG GBA to the O3DS XL, the Select button was on the left side, making Super Missle selection easier. I have a N3DS XL and I have to put both my hands on the right side just to use 4 Missiles and a Super Missile in quick succession against Mother Brain for speedrunning purposes because Nintendo put the Start and Select on the right side :/.

Is there absolutely any way this could work on 3DS VC? I would appreciate this.
 

AmberLoss

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
106
Country
Brazil
@TsukiyoX I have no idea if it works or not, but please report back once you test it! Sadly if it doesn't work there's no way for me to fix it.
 

Attachments

  • TsukiyoX.zip
    697.1 KB · Views: 121
  • Like
Reactions: TsukiyoX

Feffe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
226
Trophies
1
XP
2,137
Country
Italy
It works with VC games (NES, GB, SNES etc.), it doesn't work with GBA and DS/i games since they reboot the console on a different mode
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    Usually when such a big title leaks the Temp will be the first to report about it (going off of historical reports here, Pokemon SV being the latest one I can recall seeing pop up here)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I still like how a freaking mp3 file hacks webos all that security defeated by text yet again
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    They have simulators for everything nowdays, cray cray. How about a sim that shows you playing the Switch.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's called yuzu
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I want a 120hz 4k tv but crazy how more expensive the 120hz over the 60hz are. Or even more crazy is the price of 8k's.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No real point since movies are 30fps
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Not a big movie buff, more of a gamer tbh. And Series X is 120hz 8k ready, but yea only 120hz 4k games out right now, but thinking of in the future.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Mostly why you never see TV manufacturers going post 60hz
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I only watch tv when i goto bed, it puts me to sleep, and I have a nas drive filled w my fav shows so i can watch them in order, commercial free. I usually watch Married w Children, or South Park
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Stremio ruined my need for nas
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I stream from Nas to firestick, one on every tv, and use Kodi. I'm happy w it, plays everything. (I pirate/torrent shows/movies on pc, and put on nas)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kodi repost are still pretty popular
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What the hell is Kodi reposts? what do you mean, or "Wut?" -xdqwerty
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Google them basically web crawlers to movie sites
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    oh you mean the 3rd party apps on Kodi, yea i know what you mean, yea there are still a few cool ones, in fact watched the new planet of the apes movie other night w wifey thru one, was good pic surprisingly, not a cam
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Damn, only $2.06 and free shipping. Gotta cost more for them to ship than $2.06
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I got my Dad a firestick for Xmas and showed him those 3rd party sites on Kodi, he loves it, all he watches anymore. He said he has got 3 letters from AT&T already about pirating, but he says f them, let them shut my internet off (He wants out of his AT&T contract anyways)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's where stremio comes to play never got a letter about it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I just use a VPN, even give him my login and password so can use it also, and he refuses, he's funny.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I had to find and get him an old style flip phone even without text, cause thats what he wanted. No text, no internet, only phone calls. Old, old school.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    @BigOnYa, Lol I bought a new USB card reader thing on AliExpress last month for I think like 87 cents. Free shipping from China... It arrived it works and honestly I don't understand how it was so cheap.
    +1
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: @BigOnYa, Lol I bought a new USB card reader thing on AliExpress last month for I think like 87... +1