Would this pokemon game idea be capable of making using rom hacks?

TheShotgunDog

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello all, I'm very new to the scene so my knowledge Is limited. I've had an idea for a pokémon game for quite some time but never really had the tools or capabilities to create it (also life and it's many distractions). I actually only recently discovered ROM hacks and think I have the basics of what they are pretty much down.

So I don't think the idea is capable via ROM hacks but am curious if others would and could clear that up for me. I'm not entirely asking for help on the idea but just to know if it's possible I can tackle the know how execution etc on my own time. (Not trying to sound rude but idk how much of the pokemon fandom world would appreciate the idea in thought)

It's been a very Alpha state of idea in general so I honestly couldn't get very technical with it as would probably be preferred. That said here's the question.

Could I create say Fire red but change the battle system entirely?
Personally I am dead tired of the same/harshly similar turn based system and would like a live action game. General idea when walking in tall grass or getting into a trainer battle the sequence still starts and takes the player to a different screen but instead of the normal turn based battle say it takes the player to a battlefield (for visual discussional purposes imagine Smash bros and the trainer character from that. Now still have a lvl hp and etc (enclose the battlefield so knockouts like in SSB are incapable/irrelevant) and have a battle system as such replace the turn taker?

(Another reference of battle system feel game would be any of the major "Tales of" titles)

Also duly noted this would take lots of effort and time to create that's already in my mind just ignorant If a rom hack would be able to create such a thing.

Sonic Angel Knight

Trophies
XP
Country
United States