Translation Theatrhythm Dragon Quest

AStrkl

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Hello there, I'm quite new to all of this, I hope this is the right place to post this! This will be a confusing post, sorry in advance!

I'm currently trying to translate the 3DS game "Theatrhythm Dragon Quest". To be precise I'm using it as a way to have fun and learn about 3DS hacking, I don't have the skills required to do a translation, but I'm having tons of fun tearing game apart and trying!

I've been exploring the game files for a while, but honestly I'm completely blocked, and need some external help. I've read tons of great post about fonts and text by @FAST6191 while doing some research, but yeah...Definitely hitting a roadblock :wacko:

So far I've got a good understanding of how the romfs folder is structured, most of the game text is in the "romfs/text" folder and is pretty straightforward to edit. Lots of in game textures are easy to find and edit.
I've successfully edited some Japanese text using the very good TFF Text Editor made by @lucaboy for the Final Fantasy game, which was made by the same dev.
However, the game being in japanese doesn't display ASCII characters (which was expected), nor does it display full width characters.

Screenshot_3.jpg

(So far I've been patching the game using the Citra Mod folder on Windows, and using Luma Mods directly on device. Both method don't display ASCII Characters)

So I started looking for the font file, and this is were Ive been stuck in a loop for weeks now: in the Romfs/font folder there are two fonts "amerenor.bcfnt" and "cbf_std_replace.bcfnt".
After lots of struggle, I was able to convert those to png and edit them, (I only discoreved the tool nintyfont today which works great for that actually).