Hacking A simple GUI for FunKiiU "FunKii-UI"

Naendow

Brick-Master
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
688
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
3,006
Country
Germany
So, downloading on macOS does not work. The Terminal says this while trying to download (using online tickets):
Code:
*******

FunKiiU by cearp and the cerea1killer

*******

Downloading/updating data from wiiu.titlekeys.com
Downloaded data OK!
Exception in Tkinter callback
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/lib-tk/Tkinter.py", line 1536, in __call__
    return self.func(*args)
  File "gui.py", line 79, in <lambda>
    btn=ttk.Button(t2_frm6,text='Download using online tickets',width=30,command=lambda:self.download_clicked(1)).pack(padx=5,pady=10,side='left')
  File "gui.py", line 194, in download_clicked
    patch_demo=patch_demo,patch_dlc=patch_dlc)
  File "/Users/nando/Desktop/FunKiiU.py", line 340, in main
    if not check_title_key(title_key):
TypeError: expected string or buffer
 
Last edited by Naendow,

dojafoja

life elevated
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
696
Trophies
1
XP
2,612
Country
So, downloading on macOS does not work. The Terminal says this while trying to download (using online tickets):
Code:
*******

FunKiiU by cearp and the cerea1killer

*******

Downloading/updating data from wiiu.titlekeys.com
Downloaded data OK!
Exception in Tkinter callback
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/lib-tk/Tkinter.py", line 1536, in __call__
    return self.func(*args)
  File "gui.py", line 79, in <lambda>
    btn=ttk.Button(t2_frm6,text='Download using online tickets',width=30,command=lambda:self.download_clicked(1)).pack(padx=5,pady=10,side='left')
  File "gui.py", line 194, in download_clicked
    patch_demo=patch_demo,patch_dlc=patch_dlc)
  File "/Users/nando/Desktop/FunKiiU.py", line 340, in main
    if not check_title_key(title_key):
TypeError: expected string or buffer
Hmm. I thought I fixed that. Let me look at it. Like I said, I haven't tested it much at all.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Naendow

dojafoja

life elevated
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
696
Trophies
1
XP
2,612
Country
Hmm. I thought I fixed that. Let me look at it. Like I said, I haven't tested it much at all.
Ok so I uploaded the wrong file last night, there may be other errors as well with that version lol. Give me 5 minutes and I will upload the right one. Also, I will add support for the -overwrite feature sometime today and I will check into version control in python.

EDIT: I UPLOADED THE WORKING VERSION IN OP. REDOWNLOAD AND TEST PLEASE.
 
Last edited by dojafoja,

cerea1killer

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 31, 2016
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
42
Country
United States
Awesome, I was planning on doing this if no one else did (big part of why my refactor was more library-like)

I'll try to keep the api somewhat stable with any of my future changes
 
  • Like
Reactions: dojafoja

dojafoja

life elevated
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
696
Trophies
1
XP
2,612
Country
Awesome, I was planning on doing this if no one else did (big part of why my refactor was more library-like)

I'll try to keep the api somewhat stable with any of my future changes
Thank you. Also, sorry for misspelling your name in credits. I will fix it all up today.
 

Naendow

Brick-Master
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
688
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
3,006
Country
Germany
Okay, I have one idea left. After this, everything is perfect. :D

If I let this GUI look like an app, you can't see the Terminal. The problem with this is, that you can not see if the software downloads something and how far it is.

Is it possible to show within the gui if FunKiiU is downloading?
 

dojafoja

life elevated
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
696
Trophies
1
XP
2,612
Country
Okay, I have one idea left. After this, everything is perfect. :D

If I let this GUI look like an app, you can't see the Terminal. The problem with this is, that you can not see if the software downloads something and how far it is.

Is it possible to show within the gui if FunKiiU is downloading?
It's definitely possible. Either by wrapping it all up into a subprocess and communicating with PIPE or maybe rediricting stdout and using it as a buffer. Then have tkinter read the buffer and write it to a text box or label every .5 seconds. I will check into it later. Right now, I need to get my ass to work and get something done lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: Naendow

dojafoja

life elevated
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
696
Trophies
1
XP
2,612
Country
Will this gui install say MK8 DLC to system nand with "Patch DLC" checked before downloading it?
Visit the FunKiiU thread by cearp linked in op to understand better what it can do. This is just a gui for that program. I personally haven't even used any of these exploits so I don't know if DLC tickets can truly be patched for Install on sysnand. The author of FunKiiU claims that it handles DLC very well. I haven't followed along close enough to know what is and isn't possible atm , sorry.
 

jmrodrigues

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
183
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
1,022
Country
Portugal
Seems to be working on Macosx, could it be possible to write settings on a file? It keeps asking for key site every time. Thank you very much, it's nice to see cross platform apps.
 

dojafoja

life elevated
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
696
Trophies
1
XP
2,612
Country
Seems to be working on Macosx, could it be possible to write settings on a file? It keeps asking for key site every time. Thank you very much, it's nice to see cross platform apps.
You don't actually have to enter it every time. That is just the welcome screen. It writes to the original config.json. If you've entered it once then you're good

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

When i hit download, it just closes? Trying to download smash dlc
What version of python and what os?
Is there a stack trace you can give me?
 
Last edited by dojafoja,

hudhair

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
691
Trophies
1
XP
379
Country
United States
You don't actually have to enter it every time. That is just the welcome screen. It writes to the original config.json. If you've entered it once then you're good

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


What version of python and what os?
Is there a stack trace you can give me?
I think Python 2 and I think it's not working cuz smash dlc isn't in the title key website.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

dojafoja

life elevated
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
696
Trophies
1
XP
2,612
Country
I think Python 2 and I think it's not working cuz smash dlc isn't in the title key website.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If you could still post the stack trace error message in the terminal that would really help so I could be sure. I threw this out there blindly without testing. I would like to catch the error that's causing the gui to crash.
 
Last edited by dojafoja,

hudhair

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
691
Trophies
1
XP
379
Country
United States
If you could still post the stack trace error message in the terminal that would really help so I could be sure. I threw this out there blindly without testing. I would like to catch the error that's causing the gui to crash.
Sorry for being a noob, but does that mean copy the error from the terminal?
 

hudhair

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
691
Trophies
1
XP
379
Country
United States
Yes. Then I can find the problem.
Code:
FunKiiU by cearp and the cerea1killer
*******

Downloading/updating data from *************
Downloaded data OK!
The Title ID(s) must be 16 hexadecimal characters long
************* - is not ok.
 
Last edited by hudhair,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: https://youtu.be/WwFuB1GRKz4