Gaming AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8GHz overclock?

thegame07

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
I would really like some help with my AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8GHz 9MB Cache. I'm a noob when it comes to gaming systems, this is my first one. I would like some advice with overclocking! I have read up on guides etc but I still don't have a clue what to do tbh. I know there is a program called oc tuner to overclock it, However I don't know where to start.

Here is my temps:

19 degress just with msn and gbatemp,defrag open. My room is really cold atm. When gaming the cpu seems to hit temps of 40-45 degrees.

Overclock or not?

It would be great if someone could help with my overclocking noobness, I would appreciate it.

A step to step guide would be great, much appreciated.

Edit! whoops need to fix the image.

Diablo1123

Newcomer
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
tempsuh.png

Fixed image by the way

In my opnion you could try and see if your motherboard has any software overclocking utilities to install. I used mine to find a starting point at how much to overclock to before increasing it/decreasing it.

To overclock you go to the BIOS and increase the speed/clock of the CPU. It is also linked to your RAM and HT Link or somethign like that for AMD. You can also increase multipliers that multiply the core clock which gives you your final speed.

Slowly increasing those, test to make sure its stable, and increase again.
When it becomes more unstable, try adding (slightly) more power to the CPU and try again.

And obviously stop when it becomes unstable and increasing the CPU's wattage doesn't help. Too much wattage will kill your CPU. Most modern CPUs will shutdown the computer if it runs too how. But you could always look into an aftermarket fan.

The question to me is not "overclock or not?" But "How much can I overclock?" =D

thegame07

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
misteromar said: