How do I reset an iphone 4s?

pleasehelpme2

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
For simplicity's sake I've gotten this phone from my relative, who has not used this device in a long time. They forgotten the password and have given me some suggestions as to what the password could've been. All of them were wrong and now it says something along the lines of "Iphone disabled connect to itunes". My friends have told me that this "itunes" is something for listening to music, so I'm not sure how it'll come into play for resetting the phone. My relative has also forgotten nearly all the info regarding the device such as the id and the corresponding password. As far as I know that plays no part in the resetting process. Is there a way to get the images and such off of the device in its current state? There's nothing important but I just want to double check. I've seen some videos online about how to reset one's phone but I still don't understand, I'm still new to this smartphone stuff to be honest. Could you please explain to me in great detail as if I were an unknowing schoolboy in his 4th year? I would greatly appreciate it.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
... thanks for this week's "wow I am old" moment.

Itunes was originally something for music, however it managed ipods and later iphones as far as getting data to/from them (officially it was the only way as well but other options did exist). The iphone4 family still being within that paradigm but did do over the air updates and the like so it was mostly a convenience and means of doing backups for most people. Said backups would include a factory reset though.
You will want the pin code at least though if going this method.