I have a hat
Trophies
XP
Country
Brazil
basically what this thread boils down to is that marcan is worse than the mafia
meh ...that old pun :/
and respect the man..

I have nothing to correct, so we have some leads right there it seems, or what appears to be the very beginnings of Wii U homebrew, which I have no doubts will take off. I don't know what's going on, but I've a feeling something big is brewing....if you know what I mean.
Maybe I'm talking some nonsense, since I'm not a programer.. but wouldn't that smartphone optimized version of Ubuntu something that would run with less struggle on the WiiU, and with some new implementations, apps and stuff?
this is what I'm talking about..

Maxternal

Peanut Gallery Spokesman
Trophies
Website
gbadev.googlecode.com
XP
Country
What marcan has always seen as ideal was a linux port, even from the beginning with the wii. They developed the mini with the hopes of giving people the direct hardware access they needed for it but since everyone was already used to using libogc and the first linux ports using an IOS were so limited people didn't show much interest in using it while it was being ported to mini and THEN improved ... And that process was abandoned because of that same lack of public interest. By the time they discovered they could disable AHBPROT and just ignore the presence of either an IOS or the mini (which would have made a linux port a whole lot easier) it was too late to arouse public interest in redoing linux.

Because of AHBPROT, though, it would now be easier than ever to just port over linux with direct hardware access and if you wanted to make a single port for both old wii and vwii, just having one use 3 cores and the other use 1. On the other hand, if you wanted to deal with a only vWii approach, you could maybe skip the backwards compatibility way of communicating with them and just use the drivers that he says are already available to you.