Homebrew [Release] - LövePotion - LÖVE API for 3DS Homebrew - BETA

Chopsuey

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 18, 2017
Messages
80
Trophies
0
Location
somewhere over the rainbow
XP
737
Country
Germany
https://github.com/videah/LovePotion/wiki/Building-LÖVEPotion

Even though LP aims to make 3DS homebrew dev accessible, you'll probably need to do this to get the functionality you want. Feel free to post questions some compiling questions were already asked on the previous page too

Tanks, didn'd saw that, but man for me this looks more difficult as actually making the game. Why did never someone made a "drag 'n drop" tool for that xD...
I hate installing this kind of stuff on my pc -.-

Is there an easyer way to Change the .3dsx "info" (image, autor, description ect.) ? Didn't get it by changing the smdh file...
 

Makii

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
120
Country
United States
How do i delay something? For example if i want to move something up but slowly, how would i go about delaying it? This is what im thinking about;

function love.keypressed(key)

if key == "b" then
player.y = player.y - 4
delay
player.y = player.y - 4
delay
player.y = player.y - 4
delay
player.y = player.y - 4
delay
player.y = player.y - 4
end

What goes in "delay"s place?
 
Last edited by Makii,

JacKob

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
21
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
384
Country
Colombia
I am currently trying to make a sidescrolling Mario game for the 3DS using this framework, here is what ive been doing so far:

I just got an image of Mario on the bottom screen, when I was actually wanting it on the top screen.

jgowv8K.png


Once I got that image in, I wanted to see what I could do with music, so I randomly picked a song from Mario Odyssey (Steam Gardens: Sherm) and when I put the music file in and started up the demo, this happened:

du6xNw3.png


It'd be great if someone could help me with this error, I've heard that people could fix this error, but they never said how did they fix it.
Here is a screenshot of the main.lua file:

nGtrHcc.png
 

Chopsuey

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 18, 2017
Messages
80
Trophies
0
Location
somewhere over the rainbow
XP
737
Country
Germany
I am currently trying to make a sidescrolling Mario game for the 3DS using this framework, here is what ive been doing so far:

I just got an image of Mario on the bottom screen, when I was actually wanting it on the top screen.

jgowv8K.png


Once I got that image in, I wanted to see what I could do with music, so I randomly picked a song from Mario Odyssey (Steam Gardens: Sherm) and when I put the music file in and started up the demo, this happened:

du6xNw3.png


It'd be great if someone could help me with this error, I've heard that people could fix this error, but they never said how did they fix it.
Here is a screenshot of the main.lua file:

nGtrHcc.png


Try to Convert your musicfile to .ogg and use a shorter Track, this framework has problems with "long" music tracks.
and by long i mean, i head trouble with anything longer than around 45 seconds :-D.
 
  • Like
Reactions: hoksyjp

JacKob

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
21
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
384
Country
Colombia
Try to Convert your musicfile to .ogg and use a shorter Track, this framework has problems with "long" music tracks.
and by long i mean, i head trouble with anything longer than around 45 seconds :-D.

I actually did what you said, and it worked but using a different code than the one I first used.

So I Attempted to put an image on the top screen, when I opened up the program, the image was nowhere to be found on the top screen, here is an image of the code:

SN01kYO.png
 

Makii

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
120
Country
United States
I actually did what you said, and it worked but using a different code than the one I first used.

So I Attempted to put an image on the top screen, when I opened up the program, the image was nowhere to be found on the top screen, here is an image of the code:

SN01kYO.png

I see the problem, at "love.graphics.draw(logo, 0, 0)" You are trying to draw a image to a co-ordinate that doesn't exist (Though it technicly does exist? Me neither.), Try putting it at 5, 5 instead of 0, 0
 

hoksyjp

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2016
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Boston
Website
illteteka.itch.io
XP
141
Country
United States
I see the problem, at "love.graphics.draw(logo, 0, 0)" You are trying to draw a image to a co-ordinate that doesn't exist (Though it technicly does exist? Me neither.), Try putting it at 5, 5 instead of 0, 0
@JacKob In addition to this, you also might not be able to call function love.draw() twice

Try to use one function love.draw() and separate them with setScreen, that always works for me
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Slower speeds for gen4
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'll reformat and have a 3tb raid0 m. 2 at least
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lmao that sold out fast
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeet the cat.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Good idea
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i thought everybody knew cocktails are like 75% ice
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah but not like this.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not like they're complaining that their Slurpee is 99% ice or something, but if the cocktail calls for "shot of vodka, shot of vermouth, shot of gin, shot of Campari, three shots of juice, squirt of lemon" and ends up being a thimbleful of booze, that's a problem.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the funny thing is cocktails in norway are only allowed to have 1 20ml shot of booze
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    so..... yeah
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    we're used to only having a thimbleful of booze
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Booo.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    same thing if you want whisky on the rocks or something, you can't get a double
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but you could buy as many shots of whisky (or anything else) as you want and ask for a glass of ice and pour them in
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's dumb
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Maybe.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    There was a comparison of the number of Ibuprofen poisonings before and after they limited the maximum dosage per box or per pill (i'll look that up). No limit on the number of boxes you can still buy as many as you want, so people argued it was pointless.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But the number of (accidental) poisonings dropped because drinking an entire package of ibuprofen pills went from "I need a new liver" to "I need a new box of Ibuprofen".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Here we have ketoprofen that used to be prescription-only because of the risk of toxic dosages, but then they halved the dose per pill and sell them in bottles of six pills apiece instead of twenty and it doesn't need a prescription any more. Yes you can buy more than one bottle but people simply don't.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Usually accidentally overdose of ibuprofen here is from people taking like cold medicine then ibuprofen for a headache and the combination is over what they need
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hp24nDVKvY