Homebrew Official Retroarch WiiU (wip.)

alonzondavis

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2016
Messages
251
Trophies
0
XP
623
Country
United States
Is there a way to delete a rom in menu? I would like to shorten my rom lists as i play them, so the games i only play are the ones i like.
 

mightymuffy

fatbaldpieeater
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,983
Trophies
3
Age
48
Location
Land o't pies
XP
3,279
Country
United Kingdom
Is there a way to delete a rom in menu? I would like to shorten my rom lists as i play them, so the games i only play are the ones i like.
from your lpl playlist or just your rom folder? A good alternative to either is to use the favourites menu: select rom>add to favorites and use that for the games you play most regularly.
 

alonzondavis

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2016
Messages
251
Trophies
0
XP
623
Country
United States
from your lpl playlist or just your rom folder? A good alternative to either is to use the favourites menu: select rom>add to favorites and use that for the games you play most regularly.
Well from my rom folder, but ill try that favorites thing. In the end i used vgbagx to play then and used my computer to delete then.

Anyway, does retroarch has fast forwarding like vgbagx does? Or if not ill just wait and see if vgbagx gets ported to work with the gamepad..
 

Obveron

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
504
Trophies
1
XP
1,416
Country
Canada
Retroarch non-rpx seems to work well enough from HBL without sig patches. Am I missing out on any key emulation features by running it this way (other than XMB)?
 

Maxbeta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
406
Trophies
0
XP
1,844
Country
United States
So now that overlays are a thing,
how do I set up a keyboard overlay where I can actually see the keys layout instead of a white screen?
 

rioray

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2017
Messages
152
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
402
Country
France
So now that overlays are a thing,
how do I set up a keyboard overlay where I can actually see the keys layout instead of a white screen?

Input overlay are not working for now (last time I've checked, not sure why). edit: i mean the input part.

Was a little busy so i haven't time to made Christmas gifts :D maybe later ...

in the meantime here a little WIP testing core (vice3.1) using my sdl-libretro implementation + some tweaks.
Of course at your own risk...


OqvG9jq.png


WiiU pad is hard coded by default like this:

Code:
# VICE joystick mapping file
#
# A joystick map is read in as patch to the current map.
#
# File format:
# - comment lines start with '#'
# - keyword lines start with '!keyword'
# - normal line has 'joynum inputtype inputindex action'
#
# Keywords and their lines are:
# '!CLEAR'    clear all mappings
#
# inputtype:
# 0      axis
# 1      button
# 2      hat
# 3      ball
#
# Note that each axis has 2 inputindex entries and each hat has 4.
#
# action [action_parameters]:
# 0               none
# 1 port pin      joystick (pin: 1/2/4/8/16 = u/d/l/r/fire)
# 2 row col       keyboard
# 3               map
# 4               UI activate
# 5 path&to&item  UI function
#
#   //   RETRO        B    Y    SLT  STA  UP   DWN  LEFT RGT  A    X    L    R    L2   R2   L3   R3
#   //   INDEX        0    1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   11   12   13   14   15
#  0/1 left analog 2/3 right analog

!CLEAR

# LIBRETRO_JOYPAD00
0 0 0 1 1 8 /* Lstick->L = Joy1->L */
0 0 1 1 1 4 /* Lstick->R = Joy1->R */
0 0 2 1 1 2 /* Lstick->D = Joy1->D */
0 0 3 1 1 1 /* Lstick->U = Joy1->U */
0 0 4 1 0 8 /* Rstick->L = Joy0->L */
0 0 5 1 0 4 /* Rstick->R = Joy0->R */
0 0 6 1 0 2 /* Rstick->D = Joy0->D */
0 0 7 1 0 1 /* Rstick->U = Joy0->U */

0 1 0 1 1 16            /* Button->B = Joy1 Fire */
0 1 1 2 0 1           /* Button->Y = RETURN */
0 1 2 4               /* Button->SELECT = UI MENU */
0 1 3 5 Autostart image      /* Button->START = AUTOSTART MENU */
0 1 4 2 0 7              /* Button->PAD_UP = CURSOR UP/DOWN */
0 1 5 2 7 7            /* Button->PAD_DOWN = RUN/STOP */
0 1 6 2 0 2              /* Button->PAD_LEFT = CURSOR LEFT/RIGHT */
0 1 7 2 7 4              /* Button->PAD_RIGHT = SPACE */
0 1 8 2 0 0           /* Button->A = DEL */
0 1 9 2 7 5           /* Button->X = C= */
0 1 10 5 Machine settings&Joystick settings&Swap joystick ports    /* Button->L =-> Swap Joy ports */
0 1 11 5 Speed settings&Warp mode   /* Button->R =Warp Mode */
0 1 12 5 Virtual keyboard    /* Button->R2 =-> Virtual Keyboard */
0 1 13 1 0 16            /* Button->L2 =->Joy0 Fire */
0 1 14 0            /* Button->R3 =-> Nothing (SDL mouse Left) */
0 1 15 0            /* Button->L3 =-> Nothing (SDL mouse Right) */
(you can change this behavior using an map file sdl-joymap-C64.vjm and load it trough the menu )

You don't need the default C64 data , they are embedded .
You can create an sd:/retroarch/cores/system/data folder , it will be used to create the vicerc (also place to store your custom sdl-joymap-C64.vjm) if you wish to save your configuration changes.
(like setup an IDE64 env at startup loading the idedos.crt and the ide.cfa disk ...)

https://ufile.io/0lkg2

Just don't forget to copy the x64sdl2_libretro.info in sd:/retroarch/cores/info

Remember it is WIP and maybe buggy !
Oh, i forgot, never hit PAUSE button in menu, You have been warned !!!
 
Last edited by rioray,

Grimgolde

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2015
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Location
Alberta
Website
twitter.com
XP
128
Country
Canada
well I waited a while and I guess that person isn't coming back. so my issue with Retroarch at the moment is that after launching it through the HBL or the forwarder it seems to work fine. I can't navigate the menus, though. Does it require the WiiU gamepad for menu navigation? The battery in mine died recently, so I only have a Pro controller, Wiimote+ and the Mayflash GC adapter for controller options at this time.

I figured maybe something broke in the configs, so I went ahead and deleted my entire Retroarch folder on the SD. With a clean install I still get no input, even though the screen stills throws up a 'xx controller connected in port xx' tooltip whenever Retroarch starts up. Do I need to delete something else off the SD card?


hate to bug folks about it, but is nobody able to help me with my issue? I have tried everything short of wiping the entire SD card to fix this problem, and I'm approaching the point where I might need to if I want to play anything with Retroarch. Waiting on a replacement gamepad battery to ship and maybe that's the problem, but until then I get to mess around with this until I can figure it out
 

JacobM

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Messages
242
Trophies
0
XP
600
Country
United States
hate to bug folks about it, but is nobody able to help me with my issue? I have tried everything short of wiping the entire SD card to fix this problem, and I'm approaching the point where I might need to if I want to play anything with Retroarch. Waiting on a replacement gamepad battery to ship and maybe that's the problem, but until then I get to mess around with this until I can figure it out

I am not super familiar with Retroarch WiiU, so I apologize if I am wrong. I'm pretty sure the WiiU port defaults to exclusive menu navigation by whatever is controller 1. Until your battery comes in, I think you will have to manually open the config file on your SD card and set all_users_control_menu = true. I linked a sample config file (line 649). Next time you boot retroarch you should be able to set your alternative controller to input device #1. Best of luck!


https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/blob/eb3d8c88043c9a9e0c36d607593af1523d94766b/retroarch.cfg
 
Last edited by JacobM,
  • Like
Reactions: Grimgolde

niknice72

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 8, 2016
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
207
Country
Input overlay are not working for now (last time I've checked, not sure why). edit: i mean the input part.

Was a little busy so i haven't time to made Christmas gifts :D maybe later ...

in the meantime here a little WIP testing core (vice3.1) using my sdl-libretro implementation + some tweaks.
Of course at your own risk...


OqvG9jq.png


WiiU pad is hard coded by default like this:

Code:
# VICE joystick mapping file
#
# A joystick map is read in as patch to the current map.
#
# File format:
# - comment lines start with '#'
# - keyword lines start with '!keyword'
# - normal line has 'joynum inputtype inputindex action'
#
# Keywords and their lines are:
# '!CLEAR'    clear all mappings
#
# inputtype:
# 0      axis
# 1      button
# 2      hat
# 3      ball
#
# Note that each axis has 2 inputindex entries and each hat has 4.
#
# action [action_parameters]:
# 0               none
# 1 port pin      joystick (pin: 1/2/4/8/16 = u/d/l/r/fire)
# 2 row col       keyboard
# 3               map
# 4               UI activate
# 5 path&to&item  UI function
#
#   //   RETRO        B    Y    SLT  STA  UP   DWN  LEFT RGT  A    X    L    R    L2   R2   L3   R3
#   //   INDEX        0    1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   11   12   13   14   15
#  0/1 left analog 2/3 right analog

!CLEAR

# LIBRETRO_JOYPAD00
0 0 0 1 1 8 /* Lstick->L = Joy1->L */
0 0 1 1 1 4 /* Lstick->R = Joy1->R */
0 0 2 1 1 2 /* Lstick->D = Joy1->D */
0 0 3 1 1 1 /* Lstick->U = Joy1->U */
0 0 4 1 0 8 /* Rstick->L = Joy0->L */
0 0 5 1 0 4 /* Rstick->R = Joy0->R */
0 0 6 1 0 2 /* Rstick->D = Joy0->D */
0 0 7 1 0 1 /* Rstick->U = Joy0->U */

0 1 0 1 1 16            /* Button->B = Joy1 Fire */
0 1 1 2 0 1           /* Button->Y = RETURN */
0 1 2 4               /* Button->SELECT = UI MENU */
0 1 3 5 Autostart image      /* Button->START = AUTOSTART MENU */
0 1 4 2 0 7              /* Button->PAD_UP = CURSOR UP/DOWN */
0 1 5 2 7 7            /* Button->PAD_DOWN = RUN/STOP */
0 1 6 2 0 2              /* Button->PAD_LEFT = CURSOR LEFT/RIGHT */
0 1 7 2 7 4              /* Button->PAD_RIGHT = SPACE */
0 1 8 2 0 0           /* Button->A = DEL */
0 1 9 2 7 5           /* Button->X = C= */
0 1 10 5 Machine settings&Joystick settings&Swap joystick ports    /* Button->L =-> Swap Joy ports */
0 1 11 5 Speed settings&Warp mode   /* Button->R =Warp Mode */
0 1 12 5 Virtual keyboard    /* Button->R2 =-> Virtual Keyboard */
0 1 13 1 0 16            /* Button->L2 =->Joy0 Fire */
0 1 14 0            /* Button->R3 =-> Nothing (SDL mouse Left) */
0 1 15 0            /* Button->L3 =-> Nothing (SDL mouse Right) */
(you can change this behavior using an map file sdl-joymap-C64.vjm and load it trough the menu )

You don't need the default C64 data , they are embedded .
You can create an sd:/retroarch/cores/system/data folder , it will be used to create the vicerc (also place to store your custom sdl-joymap-C64.vjm) if you wish to save your configuration changes.
(like setup an IDE64 env at startup loading the idedos.crt and the ide.cfa disk ...)

https://ufile.io/0lkg2

Just don't forget to copy the x64sdl2_libretro.info in sd:/retroarch/cores/info

Remember it is WIP and maybe buggy !
Oh, i forgot, never hit PAUSE button in menu, You have been warned !!!

Great stuff - it loads everything i've thrown at it. How would I go about changing the controls from the analogue stick to the d-pad and also remap the A button on the control pad to also act as ‘up’ - this could then be used as a jump button in the many platform games.
 
Last edited by niknice72,

Grimgolde

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 20, 2015
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Location
Alberta
Website
twitter.com
XP
128
Country
Canada
I am not super familiar with Retroarch WiiU, so I apologize if I am wrong. I'm pretty sure the WiiU port defaults to exclusive menu navigation by whatever is controller 1. Until your battery comes in, I think you will have to manually open the config file on your SD card and set all_users_control_menu = true. I linked a sample config file (line 649). Next time you boot retroarch you should be able to set your alternative controller to input device #1. Best of luck!


https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/blob/eb3d8c88043c9a9e0c36d607593af1523d94766b/retroarch.cfg
And that fixed the issue for me. Thank you!
 

jmrodrigues

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2016
Messages
183
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
1,021
Country
Portugal
Hi, i've been away from WiiU scene for a while, i'm using haxchi and HBL 1.4, installed rpx version of Retroarch and now i'm getting a memory error whenever i try to boot it. Tried using the elf version and it goes back to HBL whenever i try to load a core. What can i be doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: By the power of Florida Man, I have the power!!! *Lifts up meth pipe* Meth Man!!! lol