RedoLane

Supreme Punmaster
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Israel
Introduction

Ever since I started playing video games(I was almost 4 years old back then), I've had many opportunities to discover new genres, which were pretty particular around here at the time.
Usually people around my age played one of the most attracted genres: Platformers or Shooters.
For instance, I was at the "Shooter" side, since my first game was Doom and I loved shooting zombies with a shotgun, especially House of the Dead in the arcade near my house.
However, sometime later, I've got to know a person at a swimming club, who introduced me to a new genre, something which hasn't made his appearance in that local arcade which resided inside the city's biggest mall.
Back then, I called these sort of games Plane Fighters, telling my friends "wanna play some plane fighters??", while in reality, they were Vertical Shooters, mostly known today as Shoot 'em Up games.

What is a "Shoot 'em up" game?

Before I will answer that important question, Let's use our imagination for a moment: Imagine yourself at the very start of a long room, where the end is nowhere to be found.
Now, instead of walking on your own, your legs will move automatically, But they'll only walk forward. You can still move yourself to the sides, but your body will still move forward.
Meanwhile, you'll notice a lot of rats appearing in front of you. You have a pepper spray in your hand. Use it to kill them!
And now, imagine the whole process being watched from above, like some sort of plane view.
And here you go! That's a "Shoot 'em up" experience in a nutshell!

So what is a "Shoot 'em up" game, you ask? Well, exactly that! instead of rats and pepper sprays, most SHMUP(short for Shoot 'em up) games in early arcade years had planes, jet planes, and a bit later even flying robots!
Just as its namesake, you shoot enemies which goes down from the top side and the whole game is viewed from a top-down view.