bought a softmodded xbox, want to find out if i need to update things.

kami44

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello all, i picked up a softmodded xbox from a small game store and i would like to find out if i need update anything. While i am totally new to xbox modding, i have at least managed to confirm that the board is a 1.1. though i realized after pulling it apart that i could look that up in the softmod menus. i have already bridged the connections for the tsop as well, but before continuing that process and removing the clock capacitor i would like to see if the softmod needs some kind of update and im not seeing any info for that. can anyone help me find my current version and explain how to update if needed?

DarkGabbz

Resident XBOX Guy
Trophies
XP
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
Hello all, i picked up a softmodded xbox from a small game store and i would like to find out if i need update anything. While i am totally new to xbox modding, i have at least managed to confirm that the board is a 1.1. though i realized after pulling it apart that i could look that up in the softmod menus. i have already bridged the connections for the tsop as well, but before continuing that process and removing the clock capacitor i would like to see if the softmod needs some kind of update and im not seeing any info for that. can anyone help me find my current version and explain how to update if needed?
The only stuff you would need to update is the dashboard if you want but remove the clock cap ASAP.

kami44

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
yea i already spent a while cleaning up acid. i read that the wrong version of softmod can cause problems after removing the cap? if thats not the case i will take it out now.

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP
Country
Antarctica
Where did you read that? That is total nonsense.

It's not nonsense.

Older softmod methods indeed could loop the Xbox as the clock wasn't valid.